We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So muich more than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Big America
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So muich more than expected”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This 3 diamond Best Western is one of the best I've ever stayed in. Couldn't find anything wrong . . . although I haven't had the continental breakfast yet. The accommodation was superior at at a very affordable price. Would definitely stay here again . . .. if I ever come this way again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UncleKenChiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4fun39, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you for your kindly written review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    223
    62
    26
    12
See reviews for
220
215
37
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
socal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This was a repeat visit to this motel and it was even better than last time! The room was large with wi-fi, a microwave and frig. The bathroom was huge with a nice separate dressing table. Very good breakfast. They even offered help with my laptop when I had trouble connecting to the internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4fun39, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in the 5* Bellagio in Vegas and honestly found the Best America better than the Beladg.
- Clean / Safe / Gigantic rooms.
- Extremely polite staff (Quentin is a darling).
- 24 hour pool and jacuzzi which both are always warm.
- Local area is okayish. Really need to drive to most places, but for most people this must be a stop-off gap.
- Wifi, Tv, fridge etc to the highest standard.

Me and my girlfriend really struggled in places before this stop-off but Best America was just what we needed.

Thanks dudes and see you some other day!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameslsmith2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4fun39, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The outside of this hotel is deceiving, but don't worry. The rooms are very big, very clean, and the bathrooms are giant, as hotel rooms go. It seems they have thought of everything here...refrigerator, microwave, bar sink in the room. Small dining table with two chairs, an easy chair, a very comfortable king bed with good sheets, and a separate desk with super comfy office chair for setting up your laptop. Nice place for a longer stay. The bathroom is way better than average, with a real full size closet and a separate vanity area for the ladies. The people at the front desk couldn't be nicer. For about $120/night, this place is great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4fun39, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Thank you for writing your review. We do our best to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigRaffa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Friendly staff and a great price. The beds were soft and the place was clean. There is not much to see in Santa Maria but if you do not want to pay out the nose in Pismo this is an option.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4fun39, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Thank you for writing your review. Santa Maria is known for mainly barbecue, mild weather which golfers love, and wineries. If you are into golf and/or wine, I would definitely suggest checking out the golf courses and/or the wineries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stay at Best Westerns on our vacations. Big America definitely had the most courteous and friendliest staff. We appreciated the extra gestures, from the handwritten welcome note from the manager to the front desk person taking the initiative to reassign us to a different, quieter room away from the street even before we had gotten to the hotel. The grand piano in the lobby, the chandeliers were a very nice elegant touch. A very nice surprise.

Quite unlike the Best Western we encountered in Salem, OR. The Pacific Hwy Inn. Worst experience. We do not recommend. And we have stayed at many Best Westerns on our family vacations.

I suspect that word about Big America will get out soon. Thank you again for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onsummervacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4fun39, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2010

was stuck n my semi in cali we as in me and my codriver were stuck with a rear end out on our semi we ot towed into santa maria area we called at lest 7 hotels and motels none had shttle service and did not take comdata we called best western big america the came got us took comdata great service the people were wonderful treated us like kings took us back to our truck got all our stuff stored it for us let use the room longer then need for or family to come get us

very clean rooms bed were wonderful showers are clean and cnt say enough about the service we got front desk was prompt ike i said cant say enough about them

juts wanna thank the wonderful stuff and the gm for every thing you done for 2 truckers stuck in cali

signed
Scott A Collins

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saczilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4fun39, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to accommodate all of our guests to the best of our ability. We are happy that we were able to provide for you in your time of need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
787 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
796 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#6 of 21 in Santa Maria
192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Big America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Big America

Property: Best Western Plus Big America
Address: 1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Big America)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Big America 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling on business or traveling for pleasure the Best Western PLUS Big America hotel in Santa Maria , California has something to offer for everyone. Located between Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo , the Big America hotel in Santa Maria offers its guests many luxuries for an affordable price. Join us in our lobby every morning for a complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast, and while you are eating your breakfast help yourself to a couple of complimentary newspapers.Our Santa Maria hotel rooms have been called by many “the best hotel rooms in Santa Maria ” because of the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the rooms. Each of our Santa Maria hotel rooms contains a mini refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, cable TV, air conditioning, wet bar, voice mail, and each room is equipped for High Speed Internet Access, both hard wired and wireless. Santa Maria is known for its Santa Maria style barbecue and the Big America hotel is close to many fine restaurants, and the meals they usually serve are big, so there are bound to be leftovers. We also have a restaurant located on the premises, which is called Francisco's Country Kitchen. We keep on hearing good things about the food, so why not give it a try. The microwave and mini refrigerator would come in really handy if you are looking for a midnight snack.Our Santa Maria hotel has rooms that can accommodate just about anyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Big America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big America Hotel Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
Santa Maria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing