We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Big America
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As usual, my stay at this BW was great. Upgraded to a suite! The staff are helpful, the rooms are always tastefully decorated and clean. No gluten free breakfast yet, but I will not be surprised when they do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Kathleen A,



Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.



BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 736 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Beautiful rooms and service but the outside is dirty and there is a main street very close. The area is a bit seedy to say the least. Vacationing in Santa Maria is not advised. For an overnight for business it's a nice hotel. The restaurant is really bad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great place to stay close to 101. Great customer service friendly and had lots of suggestions for food and things to do. Also helped with directions. Place was clean and large rooms. Furniture a little worn and dated but was comfortable and laid out well. Will stay here again when I'm back down on Business

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Lynne J,



Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that the furniture was 'a little worn and dated.' We hope to see you again soon.





BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Santa Maria is about half way between Menlo Park and LA, and we have stayed at the Best Western in Santa Maria many times over the last 10 years. It is always clean, comfortable, cost effective and the staff are always helpful, kind and happy. A real good place to stay. If you are going to visit Solvang, this would also be great place to stay as it is not very far..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LeRoyJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,



Thank you for your review. Thank you for staying with us for the past 10 years. Your loyalty is appreciated. We are happy we are able to accommodate you. We hope to see you again soon.




BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is average. When looking for a place to stay on our first visit to Santa Maria, I did not know that this hotel is on the north side, not the best area of the town. The room was ok. The bathroom needs updating with the wallpaper which was in poor condition. The table looked like it was wiped with a wet, dirty cloth leaving stains - not very nice. Since it was on the north side, lots of commercial trucks were parked in the parking lot, leaving not much room to navigate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This place is amazing and our favorite to stay in Santa Maria, CA. The beds are very comfy and the price is great for the comfort and the amazing breakfast. It's well worth it when you have a normal family with 2-3 children. Another plus is the pool and hot tub are open 24hrs. Which is nice to relax after a long trip or a lot of activities during a busy long day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Amber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Amber N,



Thank you for your review. We appreciate that we are your 'favorite place to stay in Santa Maria, CA.' Thank you for your loyalty. We hope to see you again soon.





BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice and clean motel. Location is not so nice (forget about walking anywhere or even finding nice place to eat out), so I would only recommend this place to sleep, have breakfast and get going. Staff is very friendly. Overall great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Arye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Arye M,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.



BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
883 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Santa Maria
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#6 of 21 in Santa Maria
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Big America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Big America

Address: 1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Big America)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $89 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Big America 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling on business or traveling for pleasure the Best Western PLUS Big America hotel in Santa Maria , California has something to offer for everyone. Located between Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo , the Big America hotel in Santa Maria offers its guests many luxuries for an affordable price. Join us in our lobby every morning for a complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast, and while you are eating your breakfast help yourself to a couple of complimentary newspapers.Our Santa Maria hotel rooms have been called by many “the best hotel rooms in Santa Maria ” because of the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the rooms. Each of our Santa Maria hotel rooms contains a mini refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, cable TV, air conditioning, wet bar, voice mail, and each room is equipped for High Speed Internet Access, both hard wired and wireless. Santa Maria is known for its Santa Maria style barbecue and the Big America hotel is close to many fine restaurants, and the meals they usually serve are big, so there are bound to be leftovers. We also have a restaurant located on the premises, which is called Francisco's Country Kitchen. We keep on hearing good things about the food, so why not give it a try. The microwave and mini refrigerator would come in really handy if you are looking for a midnight snack.Our Santa Maria hotel has rooms that can accommodate just about anyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Big America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big America Hotel Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
Santa Maria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing