We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Big America
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed here the last couple of years before doing the Solvang Century with a group of others. The location is towards the Northern end of Santa Maria so most all shopping and dining is further down the road. I have always enjoyed the breakfast that is offered next to the lobby area, featuring coffee, juice, an assortment of pastries, fresh fruit and cereals. My favorite are the make-your-own Belgian style waffles and the breakfast burritos with spicy salsa. My last stay here recently was not that great. There was a power outage that affected the entire hotel (from about 9:30 in the evening until about 3am). There was power to surrounding hotels and restaurants, just not at the hotel. I used the light from my smartphone to get around the room and went to my car to retrieve a flashlight, but the management never came by to offer flashlights or say they were working on the problem. I feel the hotel should have offered a discount on the accommodations that evening as without power there was no television or wireless to work on the computer. The next evening when we arrived back from the century bike ride a large group of motorcycles were parked throughout the parking lot. They were friendly and had come up from the Los Angeles area for the day and night. I know it's tough to control the noise from vehicles, but when they all decided to start their motorcycles and leave early the next morning, around 7am, I am sure no one could sleep through that. Oh well, can't really knock the hotel for that, but it was still. The cost of accommodations here seem inline with other hotels in the area. Probably worth a try at different hotel next year just to compare.

Room Tip: Have always stayed on the first floor due to having to bring bikes into the room, but could hear gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    229
    62
    26
    13
See reviews for
230
222
37
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel in Santa Maria. I will stay their the next time I'm down that way.
The rooms where very nice, and clean. The Breakfast in the morning was more than I expected.
I was greeted professionally by the staff on check-in, and upon checking out. I'd give this a five star rating.

Room Tip: convenient to all downtown locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear michael h,


Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind compliments on our rooms, and our deluxe continental breakfast. Thank you for the kind compliments on our front desk staff as well. We hope to see you again soon.


Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This particular Best Western was a large facility. There were no shortage of occupants which was a testimony to it's popularity here in Santa Maria, CA. I was greeted professionally and quickly. The main lobby area was large, clean, and quite frankly, kind of nice to look at.

The room was no disappointment either. It was spacious, with just the right amount of furniture. The bed was a Cal King and VERY comfortable. The bathroom was exceptionally clean with loads of mirrors and well lit. The shower head was certainly tall enough for a 6 foot tall person and did mention how clean the shower was? No disappointment. This facility also offerered a spacious breakfast eating area. With fresh coffee, waffles, fruit, cereal, and much much more. I will most certainly return here. Highly recommend staying here! My room rate was $96.00 per night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Henry S,


Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments on our lobby. We make sure our rooms and our lobby are pristine for our guests. The cleanliness of our facilities is really important to us. We are glad that everything was to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.




Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Absolutely a wonderful hotel. From the gracious and helpful staff, to the amazing cat who greets you in the lobby, (looks very much like the lion statue there) to the very abundant breakfast - and the rooms are very nice. They were in the process of upgrading some of the rooms, so many of them are fresh and new. We were very pleased with this hotel - we were there for a sad family occasion and were very grateful for the excellent service.
I echo what Lynn W says about the bathroom - and about the waffles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear coap83,



Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are always trying to improve the quality of our rooms, and our guests experiences. We're sorry to hear about your sad family occasion. We hope the next time we see you, it will be under better circumstances. We hope to see you again soon.



Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel. In my wife and my opinion their beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept on at any hotel. They are firm but with a nice cushy top. The rooms are very clean, a nice size and well appointed.
The breakfast was good and typical for those one gets wihen they are included in the price of the stay. The breakfast hours are longer than most from 6 - 10am which we like because we usually sleep late in the mornings.
It is obvious that the manager takes great pride in his hotel and wants his guests to have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Alan D,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you continue to stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our beds, as well as our rooms. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.



Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent the night at this location because of it's proximity to Nipomo and Jocko's restaurant. Very pleasantly surprised by the friendly greeting, suggestions for what to see and do in Santa Maria and the other local area, and most importantly the room. We had a king bed room that was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The layout of the bathroom was great with a sink and vanity, makeup table, shower/tub combo, and a separate room for the toilet. Lighting throughout the room was good for reading.

Breakfast was included, and my husband can't wait to find other Best Western Hotels with the "make your own waffle" set up.

You get everything you would expect and more for their low price. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Lynn W,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our rooms, as well as our bathrooms. Thank you for commenting on the lighting in the room. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.


Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed at the BW in Santa Maria several times and each time I have been completely satisified with the hotel stay. The staff is super friendly and accomodating. The rooms are neat and clean. Their continental breakfast is simple but it is good. I would certainly recommend the BW Santa Maria.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear dinat99,


Thank you for your review. Thank you for your loyalty and continued support. We really appreciate your business. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our rooms. We all work hard to ensure that every guest has a pleasant stay.


Best Western Plus Big America
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
825 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
820 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#6 of 21 in Santa Maria
194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Big America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Big America

Property: Best Western Plus Big America
Address: 1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Big America)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Big America 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling on business or traveling for pleasure the Best Western PLUS Big America hotel in Santa Maria , California has something to offer for everyone. Located between Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo , the Big America hotel in Santa Maria offers its guests many luxuries for an affordable price. Join us in our lobby every morning for a complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast, and while you are eating your breakfast help yourself to a couple of complimentary newspapers.Our Santa Maria hotel rooms have been called by many “the best hotel rooms in Santa Maria ” because of the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the rooms. Each of our Santa Maria hotel rooms contains a mini refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, cable TV, air conditioning, wet bar, voice mail, and each room is equipped for High Speed Internet Access, both hard wired and wireless. Santa Maria is known for its Santa Maria style barbecue and the Big America hotel is close to many fine restaurants, and the meals they usually serve are big, so there are bound to be leftovers. We also have a restaurant located on the premises, which is called Francisco's Country Kitchen. We keep on hearing good things about the food, so why not give it a try. The microwave and mini refrigerator would come in really handy if you are looking for a midnight snack.Our Santa Maria hotel has rooms that can accommodate just about anyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Big America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big America Hotel Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
Santa Maria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing