We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving 2012 with family in Nipomo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Big America

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Big America to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We expected much better as this Best Western is rated No 1 in the city by Trip Advisor.I cannot imagine what the rest of them are like. It isn't that bad but surely cannot take the top spot in town. All the furniture looks like it came out of thrift stores and the whole place needs an urgent update. Design is fussy and outdated . Internet in the room kept failing. Breakfast was better than the usual terrible offerings you get in the USA but still falls far behind what is offered in hotels in other countries .The lady running the breakfasts did not seem to want to clean the vacant tables so the area was littered with used plates and cups.The reception staff seemed too preoccupied and only acknowledged us when we asked a question, otherwise we seemed to be invisible. .

Room Tip: Choose on the ground floor to avoid hauling your bags up a flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Friendly staff at the desk in a large lobby with chandeliers and computers that helped us find our next hotel as we traveled north up the coast. Location felt safe and restaurant recommended by desk staff turned out to be an excellent choice for reasonable priced delicious steaks. Breakfast selection was very extensive with a super nice person seeing to all your needs. Food was also tasty when some other restaurants may advertise hot breakfasts they may not be as good as this was. Room large and very clean, comfy beds & pillows with plenty of clean towels. Only minor drawback was finding an ice machine or being on the second floor and slightly difficult for senior citizen age individuals to carry bags up, but we did. Pool & hot tub definitely a plus and well maintained. Definitely would recommend to everyone coming to this area to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor if you have difficulty walking or climbing stairs as no elevator that we saw is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The breakfast offered by this hotel was great! Recommend it over going to a restaurant for breakfast!

Friendly staff, clean rooms and large bathrooms made for a great stay for our family of 3.

We ate at 2 different restaurants in town, and both were horrible, so choose your eateries carefully!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Glenn S,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our free, deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our rooms. We hope to see you again soon.



Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have no complaints whatsoever. The room was clean and in terrific condition. As well, the size of it was great. Noise was no problem at all. The continental breakfast was much more than that. Usually for me that means heres some coffee and danish. The had make your own wafffles, breakfast burritos, cereal, biscuits and gravy, and of course danish, and so much more. We were perfectly happy here. Santa Maria in general looks like a city in rapid decline however. We were there for a funeral. Not sure what other attraction there would be here. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We had room 107, ground level. No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear ed r,


Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for complimenting on the free, deluxe continental breakfast. We do our best to keep all of our rooms as clean as possible. We hope to see you again soon.



Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel staff is nice and pleasant, no problem with early check in, getting pool towels or with the complimentary breakfast. Pool and hot tub are open 24 hrs which is a nice option. The 1st floor suites are nice but a little awkward layout, and there are way to many mirrors in the rooms so it's a little bit like a fun house when you 1st walk in. Overall a good experience, and as I said before the staff was pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: I checked out one of the 2nd story rooms, it was just one room without the separate living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_bum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Travel_bum99,


Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is our goal for all of our guests to have a memorable and pleasant stay. We are glad your were able to enjoy our heated swimming pool and spa, as well as our deluxe continental breakfast.



Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We chose this hotel for a quick overnight stay on our way up the coast as it represented good value and included a substantial breakfast for the family. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the breakfast offerings were varied and very nicely done. I was quite impressed with the lovely green salad it was a pleasant change to have some very healthy alternatives at breakfast. I could see that the owners took great care in ensuring their guests enjoyed their stay. The Wi Fi was excellent and there were computers set up in the lobby with free Wi Fi also. The rooms could use an upgrade but for the price were adequate. It pains me to mention this but we found the area to be very 'run down' and a bit 'iffy'. Travelling with our young children, we actually felt 'unsafe' in the neighborhood and to be honest were glad to leave the area the next morning. For this reason we would not stay here again, it's just unfortunate for the hotel as they were all lovely and it represents good value for a stopover. I went to reception to ask for a cork screw to open my bottle of wine and I was given a gift of a high quality cork screw in a box with the hotels name inscribed on it...a very nice gesture

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Penthouse' room which is extremely large at the end of the hotel. there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baz50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 20 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Maria Inn
Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 20 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Big America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Big America

Address: 1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Big America 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling on business or traveling for pleasure the Best Western PLUS Big America hotel in Santa Maria , California has something to offer for everyone. Located between Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo , the Big America hotel in Santa Maria offers its guests many luxuries for an affordable price. Join us in our lobby every morning for a complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast, and while you are eating your breakfast help yourself to a couple of complimentary newspapers.Our Santa Maria hotel rooms have been called by many “the best hotel rooms in Santa Maria ” because of the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the rooms. Each of our Santa Maria hotel rooms contains a mini refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, cable TV, air conditioning, wet bar, voice mail, and each room is equipped for High Speed Internet Access, both hard wired and wireless. Santa Maria is known for its Santa Maria style barbecue and the Big America hotel is close to many fine restaurants, and the meals they usually serve are big, so there are bound to be leftovers. We also have a restaurant located on the premises, which is called Francisco's Country Kitchen. We keep on hearing good things about the food, so why not give it a try. The microwave and mini refrigerator would come in really handy if you are looking for a midnight snack.Our Santa Maria hotel has rooms that can accommodate just about anyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Big America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big America Hotel Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
Santa Maria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing