We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, quiet, huge bathroom!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Big America
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here on our way up the coast. It's a great value. Comfortable beds, quiet, clean, great water pressure in the shower. Stayed for breakfast. Good food! Wasn't sure about the location when we arrived, but we were happy we stayed.

Room Tip: We stayed upper level, middle of floor - away from pool and ice machine. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cajnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest


Thank your for your review. We appreciate your kind comments. We are always striving to make each guest's stay a memorable one. We hope to see you again soon.


Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 741 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Whenever we visit relatives in Santa Maria/Santa Barbara, we stay at the Best Western in Santa Maria. The cost is so much less than staying in Santa Barbara. A two night stay here is cheaper than one night in Santa Barbara. The breakfast is always good and plentiful. The staff is always helpful with answering any questions. Plus what hotel has an old tom cat that loves to be pet?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:


Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you are loyal customers. We do our best to get our rates "just right," as well as everything else we do.
We hope to see you again soon, and Cleo the Cat eagerly awaits your return.



Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Let me start by saying I keep coming back to this Hotel week after week. I'm a driver that goes back and forth every week from Riverside and I choose to stay here. I arrive to a friendly staff and am always greeted with a smile. The rooms are very clean and the bed's are so comfy. I've stayed here about 25 times over the past year and they have yet to let me down. Enjoy your stay as I have.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigrob2932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for your review. It is extremely important to us that our guests not just have a wonderful experience with us, but continue to have many wonderful experiences with us. We are happy that you continue to stay with us, and we appreciate your continued business. We look forward to seeing you again.


Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First, let me say that the staff was friendly, the bed comfortable, the room clean, and the price reasonable. However, the location of this hotel (about a mile off the freeway) is not great. The neighborhood was run-down and we were actually nervous about staying there once we arrived. The room decor is a throw-back to the 1970s, and could really use updating. I'm sure this hotel was once very nice, and seems to be well-run, but time has passed it by. Primarily because of the location, we would not stay here again. If we had it to do over, we'd choose one of the newer hotels closer to the freeway (Holiday Inn, Farfield Inn, etc.).

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor, as you may not want a ground floor window in this neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Clean, spacious, a bit old fashioned, but very welcoming, professional, well maintained and functional.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JMS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the kind comments, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this Best Western the weekend before the 4th of July. I booked the room the day of the stay online for just under 120 dollars, and it was certainly worth it. The rooms are very large, even for a Best Western. Bed were extremely comfortable, and the walls were relatively noise-proof. Additionally, the pool and jacuzzi are open 24 hours, which i thought was pretty awesome. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from Pismo Beach, which is definitely worth it to save so much money while getting better accomodations.
My only complaint was that it can get pretty noisy occasionally, especially in the morning, when families stream out in droves to explore. So, if you expect to comfortably sleep in past 8am, don't expect it! Also, continental breakfast was quite empty when we came down - around 9am. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dfotinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are proud to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We get many compliments about the size of our rooms, and our new mattresses have been successful as well. We do our best to make the guest feel as comfortable as possible. We apologize about the noise and that our continental breakfast was almost empty. We take issues like these seriously and we strive to make a better experience for our guests with each and every stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We liked this hotel a lot as it gave us everything we look for and at a very reasonable price. The room was quiet and spacious; bed was extremely comfortable; bathroom huge with a nice powerful shower; free wifi and good TV. Didn't eat breakfast as we left early to play golf, but the coffee in the lobbly was good and got us started on our day. Room may have been slightly dated, but in now way shabby. Will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jingles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear that our hotel gave our guests everything they were looking for. This is what we strive for; to accommodate all of our guests to the best of our abilities. We hope the next time you stay with us, you will be able to enjoy our deluxe, continental breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Western Plus Big America Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
890 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Santa Maria
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#6 of 21 in Santa Maria
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Big America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Big America

Address: 1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Big America)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $88 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Big America 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling on business or traveling for pleasure the Best Western PLUS Big America hotel in Santa Maria , California has something to offer for everyone. Located between Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo , the Big America hotel in Santa Maria offers its guests many luxuries for an affordable price. Join us in our lobby every morning for a complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast, and while you are eating your breakfast help yourself to a couple of complimentary newspapers.Our Santa Maria hotel rooms have been called by many “the best hotel rooms in Santa Maria ” because of the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the rooms. Each of our Santa Maria hotel rooms contains a mini refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, cable TV, air conditioning, wet bar, voice mail, and each room is equipped for High Speed Internet Access, both hard wired and wireless. Santa Maria is known for its Santa Maria style barbecue and the Big America hotel is close to many fine restaurants, and the meals they usually serve are big, so there are bound to be leftovers. We also have a restaurant located on the premises, which is called Francisco's Country Kitchen. We keep on hearing good things about the food, so why not give it a try. The microwave and mini refrigerator would come in really handy if you are looking for a midnight snack.Our Santa Maria hotel has rooms that can accommodate just about anyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Big America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big America Hotel Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
Santa Maria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing