We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely historical hotel with the friendliest staff ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santa Maria Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Clarkdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely historical hotel with the friendliest staff ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

If it's just myself I stay in the older, historical, original section. Rooms are smaller and feel "comfy" and some have balconies. Due to age and lack of modern soundproofing it can get a little noisy (hearing people walk down the halls, talking, etc.). If I'm sharing the room with someone I stay in the modern tower because rooms are considerably larger. All staff members are oh-so friendly and helpful. I love the beauty of their Garden Room Restaurant which overlooks a gorgeous, expansive courtyard. Their foods are quite good and they sell Starbucks coffee in the lobby. The grounds are impeccable with trees, flowering plants, water fountains. Rooms are well maintained and very clean. Parking is ample and free. I love this hotel for many reasons and will always stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea11911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
WONDERFUL! Thank you kindly for such a lovely review. We appreciate you letting us know the minor flaws of the Original Inn section and agree that the rooms in the tower are much larger. We also agree that we have great staff! They are a huge reason that guests like you come back and stay with us time after time!
We look forward to seeing you next time!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    249
    116
    51
    43
See reviews for
200
269
35
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here for a night while traveling in the area. I had stayed previously so I had and idea of what to expect staying in the older part of the hotel. I chose it because I thought it was reliable. It was noisy, a little too minimalistic with amenities, and had an old tired feel and aroma. I have stayed at other places in town as well and will go someplace else next time, considering they cost less.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay. We are so sorry to hear that you were less than pleased. We are constantly updating the property, but welcome all feedback openly.
We are sure that you can find better deals in town, but can guarantee that they will not be full service hotels such as ours.
We do that you will consider trying the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the Santa Maria Inn. Our room was upgraded to a suite w/living area and two EXTREMELY comfortable king beds. The rooms are clean and crisp and the amenities are delightful. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and accommodating. The historic décor is beautiful. We would highly recommend staying at the Santa Maria Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and rose garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtisticSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for that wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a family reunion. It was full of ambiance. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. My kids had a great time. We went ghost hunting at night in the older part of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was also tasty and they serve Starbucks coffee....yay! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJMD2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay when you were in town for a family reunion. Yes, having Starbucks is a HUGE plus that our guests really appreciate!
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I enjoyed my brief stay at the Santa Maria Inn. It's a great value. I stayed in the "traditional" (i.e. older) side of the hotel. The room was small, but they fit a tremendous amount of very nice, functional, furniture into the space. Honestly, the only complaint I would have about the room is the lack of soundproofing around the door (I could hear everything out in the hallway, and I could hear everything in the rooms I passed when I was walking down the hallway). However, the bed was so comfortable that I slept through all of the noise that may have been out there. And I couldn't hear a peep from the rooms next door to me.

The hotel layout is a little confusing, but the staff is happy to show you the way. There's a nice little restaurant and coffee bar onsite, as well as a variety of other shops. I also loved the amenities - the bath products provided were fantastic! I don't usually use hotel shampoos/lotions, but I absolutely loved the lotion provided by this hotel. I stayed over a Saturday night, and ended up with an entire Sunday paper at my door the next morning. Most hotels don't provided papers on the weekend, and I greatly appreciated the small touches like that.

Overall, this place isn't perfect, but it's a great historic hotel at a wonderful value!

Room Tip: Traditional rooms are in the historic part of the hotel, and are rather small and somewhat noisy due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
What a wonderfully detailed review of your stay! Thank you so much for all the kind words! We agree, our beds are SO amazing! We get so many positive reviews about them, that we even started selling them! We also agree about the bathroom products, they are great!
We really appreciate you mentioning to us that the door could use better sound proofing, we will make sure to let our engineering department know of this.

We hope to see you in the next time you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier Ca
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been here many times. It is no frills and dependable. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We like to stay in the older part, close to the pool. The gardens are beautiful and well kept. It's a pleasure to enjoy the roses and other flowers while sitting at the pool. The downstairs wine bar is comfortable and has a good selection of local vintages. Another plus is that Shaw's Steakhouse is across the street. They have a great tri-tip and early bird specials.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the older section near the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oveja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay. We are so glad that you continuously enjoy yourselves! Reviews like yours are always our favorite to read, nothing makes us happier than hearing that our repeat guests always enjoy their time with us!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
302 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at the Santa Maria Inn. We had one of the 2nd floor King Suites, and for the price, it was a great deal. When you come to this hotel, remember that is a historic building, so it is older. It is not like staying in a top of the line Marriott, but it is beautiful. It is not a cookie-cutter hotel, so if that is what you are looking for, you should go elsewhere, but if you enjoy older hotels that have been kept up, and are a very good value, then you should consider this one. The beds are very good, it is clean, and best of all, it has character. It's courtyard is beautiful. It has a nice gym, and nice pool.

Room Tip: We choose a corner king suite on the 2nd floor. If you ask for one of those, they come with a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salupm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you SO much for that wonderful review! We appreciate all the positive things you had to say about your stay with us! You are correct, we definitely are not cookie cutter, we have almost 100 years of charm, nostalgia and more to offer!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#5 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Property: Santa Maria Inn
Address: 801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing