We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Relic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Relic”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A last minute change of plans left us in need of a hotel the day after Thanksgiving. The ease of obtaining a room over such a busy weekend should have been an indicator! The hotel is a ways off of the freeway and in a bad part of town. Based on some of the reviews we secured a room in the 'newer' part of the hotel. But it was quickly apparent that the new part is in serious need of updating and renovation. The entire place had a musty smell and the halls were sparsely decorated and cramped. The room was a decent size but was dusty and smelled like death (and at the time we didn't know the place was haunted!). The worst part of all was ordering room service. Not only did they forget several items but we were overcharged and had to make three phone calls to get the bill corrected. Drive further up the highway and stay somewhere decent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay...we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and there were problems with your room service order. We always want to make sure that every guest leaves our hotel happy and satisfied.
We are in the process of updating our Executive Tower and we take all feedback to heart so that we can make sure that everyone has the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    262
    121
    52
    44
See reviews for
214
279
37
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the newer section of this hotel. The hotel is kept clean although there was an ever so slight musty smell. Still though, it was good for our two night stay. There aren't a lot of choices in the area, but I would still say that this is most definitely one of the better ones.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments. We will be sure to look into the slight somewhat musty smell.
We are so glad that you would stay with us again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were driving from Napa down to Huntington Beach in a leisurely way, stopping to visit vineyards, and a young lady at a tasting just north of Santa Maria advised us to stay at the Inn, preferably in the old part. So we took her advice. It's a fine older building with a lot of character--my wife loved seeing the names of famous guests on the doors, mostly filmstars. Excellent, friendly service, and a good breakfast. It's my impression this is probably the most interesting place to stay in Santa Maria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quavvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! We are thrilled to hear that a local winery recommended our hotel. The Original Inn is lots of fun! You feel like you're stepping back into history-only with updated rooms!
Happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as well! We look forward to having you stay with us again. Might we suggest our Wine Country Package which includes a book with specials on tastings, etc at local wineries and vineyards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First of all, you have to make a choice. Do you want to stay in the historic section of the hotel?...rooms are updated but tend to be much smaller and a bit more funky- many are named after famous guests who have stayed there. It is the original part of the property.
Or
You can request a Tower room which are quite large, have similar amenities, but is an annex to the main hotel. No history here.
We have stayed in both and always request a Tower room.

Be sure to visit the room off of the lobby which as many photos of the history of the Santa Maria Inn which served a waystation for guests traveling to the William Randolph Hearst's "castle".

A very friendly staff that will point the way to the best wineries, PCPA Theaterfest, and other activities in the area. Fresh cookies in the lobby in the afternoon, free wireless internet in rooms, and local newspaper in the morning. Starbucks off the lobby.

Frequent stop for tour groups so book early.

Within walking distance is Shaws- a popular steakhouse across the street. They feature Santa Maria style- tri tip steak. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
What a wonderful and detailed review. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this! We are so glad that you have stayed with us enough time to know the difference between the Original Inn and our Executive Tower! We would agree that we have the best staff around! We know that without them, we wouldn't be able to keep everything moving so efficiently. Our location is the best in the city, you are right, we are steps away from everything!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. It is an older building, but I didn't expect the 'old smell' when I walked through the doors. However, the room smelled better (more like a standard hotel room). We didn't use any of the restaurants, which looked like they fit the overall ambience.

Liked the bed in our room. Didn't like the sound of ?? a running toilet ?? water rumbling down a pipe??!? Not sure. I put my headphones in to block out the sound. Also - it was a long walk to our room and no where closer to park. So we dragged our suitcase from one end of the building to the other.

**Nice feature - onsite laundry machines for guests! I wish we had known this (never thought to look it up). $0.75 for a load.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ctkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful, large room in the tower for only 99.00 over Veteran's Day. Everyone on staff was very friendly. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has a great location for seeing this part of the Central Coast. Don't bother with the Garden Room restaurant - not very good food offered at the breakfast buffet and very understaffed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, but are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your breakfast experience. We will make sure to address your concerns with our Chef and restaurant manager.
We do hope to see you again and we hope that you will try The Garden Room again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Found this gem of a hotel by pure chance on our travels from South to North California. We were given a large, comfortable room with marbled on-suite bathroom in the old, full of character, historic part of the hotel. The window looked out onto the most beautiful garden with waterfall, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, which was amazing as we were able to swim late October! We ended up staying 2 nights then travelling North and returning and staying again on our way back to LA! The food choices, presentation and delicious flavours in the restaurant were the BEST we experienced travelling through California, Nevada and Arizona! Staff were all lovely and so helpful. Unfortunately we do not live closer to experience The Santa Maria Inn more often (live in Scotland, UK)! I have recommended to US family to give it a visit though! On our next trip to the US we will definitely be spending more time here as it is a lovely interesting little town with lots of Museums and is also a good base for the more expensive Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Take a room in the old part of hotel- garden views are gorgeous, also quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
What are wonderfully detailed review of our hotel! Thank you so much! We are so glad that you had such lovely experiences with us! We appreciate all the positive comments and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Big America
Best Western Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#5 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Santa Maria Inn

Property: The Historic Santa Maria Inn
Address: 801 S Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-6668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing