We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
Nearby Hotels
$116
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountain Motel(Santa Maria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveler rating
352
295
134
58
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
295
134
58
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarold sectionolder partgarden roomnewer towerold world charmmartini barmarilyn monroemovie starsolder roomsbarber shoprose gardenbreakfast buffetcentral coasthearst castleone night staysan francisco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 894 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night in the historic inn on a recent weekend road trip. Although the booking was done in advance, I knew nothing about this place prior. All we were looking for was a reasonably priced hotel in any convenient-to-stop town on the way. We were somewhat perplexed at this relatively fancy looking architectural presence in a seemingly isolated town (please excuse my ignorant impression), but our curiosity was quickly satisfied by the very friendly receptionist who enthusiastically shared with us the history of the place and gave us the list of old Hollywood stars who'd stayed there. We were tickled by the hints of the past glamor, from the Tudor style common area on the ground level to the fancy fixtures and marble accents in our otherwise dated second-floor guestroom. The night's experience was certainly no luxury but definitely more than a basic accommodation and even kind of a special treat. I wish we had more time to enjoy the outdoor pool and other amenities of the hotel.
For light sleepers, the more modern tower may be a better choice than the historic inn part of the hotel; we could hear noises from adjacent guestrooms, other floors, and the hallway.
I will definitely go back and already recommended the place to other friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with our historic Inn. We appreciate your experience and for such a detailed account of your stay. As you mentioned, we are a great stopover or destination for anyone needing quality lodging at a reasonable price. We are pleased to be able to offer so many amenitites to our valued guests and it sounds as though you were able to enjoy some of what we have to offer. Thank you kindly for both your stay and your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again and appreciate your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed one night at the Santa Maria Inn. Had the suite, but was so tired I couldnt really enjoy all it offered. What impressed me were the little extras. The towels folded into flowers, the soft robe on the bed. The staff was very nice, the food EXCELLENT, the bed cozy. Free, easy parking. The massage therapist - AWESOME. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

We are so thankful you were willing to share your experience regardless of the fact you weren't able to enjoy all we had to offer due to your exhaustion. We appreciate you noticing the small touches that we hope make each guests stay more enjoyable. Also, thank you for highlighting our on site massage therapist. Ambiance Massage is a very professional and enjoyable experience and we are pleased to be able to offer that amenity to our guests. Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We have stayed at the hotel several times and every time the staff is excellent and the rooms are perfect. The General Manager really takes care of making sure our stay is perfect. The history of the hotel is amazing. The room service we ordered was delivered promptly and was not super expensive. Easy access to all local businesses and make sure you eat at the restaruant. The chef makes all the meals perfect and to your order. I can't say enough about this place. I would and do recommend this hotel to everyone I can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MdubsRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thanks for your kind response!! As a historic landmark along California's beautiful Central Coast, we appreciate being able to share our history and amenities with our guests. We are very grateful of your response and sharing your thoughts on our Inn. As a full-service property, we look forward to serving our guests and are thankful you appreciate all we have to offer. From our room service to our front desk staff and housekeeping, we strive to go above and beyond for each guest. Thank you not only for mentioning it but for passing the word along!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I have to say that I travel a lot on busuiness and have never met better and more friendly staff than at the Santa Maria Inn. This includes all the staff, from the restaruant to the front desk. They are all firendly, happy and extremely helpful. The staff make it a great place to spend time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREGAWEBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you for highlighting our hard working staff and employees. We take great pride in making the guest experience a positive one and we appreciate you taking the time to make mention of their hard work. Our customer service is what we hope guests take away with them and we thank you for noticing our curteous employees. We look forward to hosting you again on your next business trip to Santa Maria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Santa Maria Inn on April 20 - 23, 2011. I planned a trip that would include the Santa Inez Valley and the San Luis Obispo areas and Santa Maria seemed a good central location. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only downside was an old smell of cigarette smoke. We stopped noticing it after a few minutes, but some may be more bothered by it. The king size bed was very comfortable. We were given a room close to the entrance and I was concerned about possible noise, but it was not a problem. (We got a very good deal by prepaying for the room, so probably didn't have the choice of the best rooms. Ultimately, that didn't really matter.)

We ate at the hotel restaurant (Santa Maria Inn Garden Room) the first night. The room was beautiful, the food was absolutely excellent, and our server was very friendly and attentive. I have written a separate review for the restaurant. We were not impressed by The Old English Taproom, however. A beautiful room completely spoiled by neon beer signs. Much nicer was the Martini Bar and Wine Cellar on the lower level. We didn't try it this time, but it looked very nice.

We breakfasted at the coffee shop across the street all three mornings of our stay. Good, basic, inexpensive fare served by a friendly and competent staff.

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Thank you very much for responding to your stay on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your very candid feedback and are pleased that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Central Coast and the surrounding cities. It sounds as though you were able to take full advantage of the amenities the Inn has to offer. We do appreciate all guest comments and will consider your comments on our Olde English Tap Room and the use of the neon bar signs. Thank you, once again, and we look forward to seeing you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews