We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Tri-Tip steak sandwich”

Shaw's Famous Steak House
Ranked #1 of 219 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Try the Tri-Tip steak sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had two bad experiences eating Tri -Tip steak elsewhere; it was like eating shoe leather -just as chewy, dry and nasty tasting as you would expect. Since Santa Maria is the "home" of Tri-Tip barbecue, I went to Shaw's on recommendation of staff in two places. I tried the steak for the third, and perhaps last, time. Wow, it was delicious! Still chewy but moist and tasty. The Cole Slaw salad was perfect - really creamy, the way I like it. My DH had the special, citrus salmon salad, and he said it was very good. Unfortunately, we had no room for dessert. Our waitress was very friendly too.

Will I have Tri-tip again? Only here for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardener4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    145
    34
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

There Nov. 9th. Book said Santa Maria, Ca. was famopus for it's TriTips. We stopped at an antique store-while there asked the owner & he said go to Shaws'. My word-was he RIGHT-Fabulous-Last restrauant I was in that had home relish plate was Genos' in Halstead, Chicago. This was great. Homemade garlic bread was superb. The main course of Tritip was magnificent! Cut with a fork. NO knife needed. Great flavor. Baked potato perfect. Service amazing. Was all as the dealer had said it would be. Pricing to me was resonable. If visiting don't miss. Also go their monday through Friday when they run special prices on meals between 4 to 6 P.M.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelan, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Santa Maria tri-tip at it finest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

If your from California, you dream of Santa Maria tri-tip BBQ! This place does it perfectly and with all the sides they include made for a wonderful dinner. The wood pit is open to watch the cook lay out the beef and carefully monitor it to perfection. My advise is don't pass Santa Maria without eating BBQ here!

Helpful?
1 Thank mamacraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We wine tasted all day and were staying overnight at Best Western. I knew I would be craving red meat after all that red wine I drank all day. This place was perfect. Friendly, attentive staff. Big portions, quality meat, very tasty. We had the cherry bread pudding for dessert...very good. This is a family BBQ place, not fine dining with $40 filet...we had eaten at Flemings in LA the week before...my husband liked this just as much! I say Flemings melts in your mouth, while Shaws is good tasty beef that is enjoyable and worth the prices charged.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gamyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Santa Maria has a reputation for BBQ. Not BBQ sauce, just a big slab of meat cooked over a red oak fire. Shaw's was recommended on the internet and by the locals as well. This is not fine dining but fairly casual. I went there for a big slab of steak and I have had some pretty darn good steaks in my days. I also grill a pretty good steak myself. I had a ribeye and my wife had a filet. Both were perfect. I don't know if it was the best steak I ever had but it was right up there. They also serve local wines which was nice. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richardslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw's Famous Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Shaw's Famous Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing