We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem”

The Swiss Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 265 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, it looks run down, but hey it’s very old ... and what I prefer to think of as very quaint. There is a reason it is filled with locals, one of whom at our hotel highly recommended we go there. Service was great, the guys were hopping around like crazy but still were very friendly. But you are there for the food, large portions, locally sourced, and fantastic ... if you are a meat lover. Highly recommend the prime rib, their specialty. You won’t finish it!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 237 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2019

The Swiss Restaurant has been around for almost 80 years, and is a traditional style Steakhouse, looks run down from the outside, and very little ambiance and/or decor on the inside restaurant. The bar looks to be a bit updated, and more in style, but the restaurant looks like to probably did in the early 60's. They have about 4 or 5 booths, and rest of the seating are tables, the layout on the inside is a bit funky and doesn't real flow, however the food is delicious. They have a nice menu selection, everything from appetizers, and steaks to seafood, pasta and burgers. As mentioned the food is cooked to perfection, and great tasting, as well as large portions, so go hungry, or plan to take food home .... We ordered the Steak Oscar, and the BBQ Blue and both were amazing, along with the sides that we ordered, and we both took about half of the main course home as we were full from the appetizers, and bread and beans that they provide to you family style. Were a bit disappoint in the drinks, and sent one back to exchange for something else, as it didn't taste good, and they were good about it and didn't charge for the returned drink. Their drinks are a bit pricey, but overall we enjoyed the meal and drinks, the only knock was that service was a bit slow, as the place was not overly crowded when we were there, the staff was friendly, but just seemed that they were slow to come back around to check on the table for drinks and stuff. Overall we will be going back again, and will trying something different next time to see if they are as good as what we had this time. If in the area, would recommend the The Swiss Restaurant for dinner.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod-BHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

very friendly staff good food, little pricey. for example we order wings for appetizer for $11 not the best and only 5 piece but our meal was good maybe not good for appetizer. I wont blame the restaurant I should ask before order BUT wings was just wings. place was packed and we had fun.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Compass04741528588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

Not very nice inside. Looked grungy. Dining room was small and crowded. Not appealing at all. We left before we ordered food.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

We had dinner here during an overnight stay. The outside of the restaurant did not reflect the nice interior or the quality of the food. I had the tri tip sandwich and my husband enjoyed the hamburger. Both were excellent beef, fresh locally raised. The steaks in the menu were very tempting. The service was excellent also. I would highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Q1944OFsandram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swiss Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Swiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing