We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Lunch”
Review of The Market - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Market
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
195 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Business Lunch”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Needed a place for a pleasant, leisurely business lunch. A local suggested Central City Market in the Santa Maria Mall.
The menu offers great salads, sandwiches and daily comfort food meals. I tried the sliced turkey with brie, lettuce, cranberries and raspberry jam on fresh bread. The sandwich was tasty, tender and huge. I enjoyed half for lunch and the other half in my hotel room at night. Service was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nippon703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food, Glacial Service..”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place may be unique on the Central Coast in northern Santa Barbara county, a French-style bistro in a large farm town mall, but it works well. The food is excellently prepared from an extensive and innovative menu, with a wine list one would expect in a big city. The desserts are beautiful and delicious. The only small drawback is that the service on a slow Saturday afternoon was slow, just slow enough to be noticeable. Not a deal-killer, but should be fixed. See their website for all the special events and happy hour items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonhartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pass - tiny portions, large prices”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I had a poor experience at this restaurant. Surprisingly, the owner/director of food for the mall provided his email address on every table to be contacted for comments. This was a very good gesture. I would resolve the poor experience between us without having to post about it on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately he doesn't care about his customers enough to reply. The following was my email detailing our experience:

"My family has lived in here for 5 years and have just made it out to the Central City market for the first time. We are here now having dinner and I was surprised that the dining room was empty despite it being right in the middle of dinner service. The menu looked wonderful, the dining room is clean and the wait staff is friendly. However, I do have some concerns. My $15 vegitarian sandwich was the size of something from the dollar menu from a fast food establishment. Also, it came with less veggies than listed on the menu and has bone-dry, hard as a rock sundried tomatoes. The kitchen should be using jarred sun dried tomatoes in olive oil or know how to properly reconstitute them. I sent the plate back. Furthermore, my wife's french dip was also pathetically small for the price. She could not even dip her french dip as the meat resembled pencil shavings and quickly all fell on the plate after a couple bites. The kitchen also forgot her side dish. I felt bad for the server when I sent my dish back to the kitchen. She performed her job very well and offered dessert on the house as a form of appology. This was a very nice gesture. The chocolate chip cookie I am eating as I type this is ver tastey. Thank you very much for making your contact information available. I would rather not write negative reviews on Trip Advisor or Yelp."

Wel, that never worked out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UCLAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't know why this place has good reviews on Yelp”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Found this place on Yelp as Tripadvisor did not show anything that advertised fresh ingredients. Was very disappointed. Place was dead and the food was nothing worth going back for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthbroomNatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients = Great Lunch”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lunch here was quite pleasant sitting in the "greenhouse" area. The food was very tasty. Fresh crisp salads and healthy sandwiches. I do like this place although it is in an odd location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seapjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing