We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”

Santa Maria Museum of Flight
Ranked #9 of 28 things to do in Santa Maria
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Thanks to a change in flight time, I had a few hours to kill with my two boys (age 8 and 6) before returning home from Spring Break. The SMMOF is right next to the Santa Maria Public Airport and is a hidden gem. The admission fee was nominal- $5 for adults, and $2 for kids 7-11. My six year old was free. We were led on a personal tour of the hangars, toured the planes on display outside and had an opportunity to look at all the neat flight memorabilia, collectibles and models they had. I was impressed at the variety of artifacts they had on hand from military to Hollywood movie props. The kids had a great time and enjoyed the visit. The volunteer docents were very nice and obviously care a lot of about museum. They have a lot of cool aircraft related toys and gifts for sale at fairly reasonable prices. Every child's dream! Highly recommend for family activity or those interested in aviation.

There is a small blue sign off the main road to mark where to turn. If you're driving too fast, you could easily miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ann572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Little Museum !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Not very big, but make up quanity with quality. Excellent displays and very knowledgeable member/docents.
One main hanger -from Disney's Rocketman- and several outside static displays -although the F-86 just disappeared, but they're working on replacing it with a Fury -the Navy Sabre.
The takeoff in "The Spirit of St Louis" with Jimmy Stewart was filmed here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Santa Maria Museum of Flight is unlike any other flight museum I have visited, and I grew up with parents and other family members who were in the flight industry as pilots, etc. This museum is unique, and to have watched their growth from having very little to what they currently have is impressive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sassafrasss393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“TLC applied to aviation history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Small but clearly a lot of personal attention given to the exhibits. Some unusual displays, including small planes from WWII to the present, and rocket engines up close and personal. Curated by Air Force veterans, there's a lot of personal attention given to each visitor (we had a private tour by the museum president). Also a neat display, and pretty garden, honoring the Ninety-Nines! Easily covered in an hour, it's a worthwhile stop if you have any time at all and have had enough wine country.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheresaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We decided to go check out the museum which is right down the street from the Radisson. The donation for adults is $5 each and a little less for children. You have the option of having a docent and we could tell the older gentleman was eager to share information with us. We chose a docent and it was a great time hearing many details and historical information. This is a great little museum with a lot of history that will hopefully be preserved through the years.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank psadams52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria Museum of Flight also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria Museum of Flight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing