We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have 2 tasting rooms”
Review of Foxen Vineyard

Foxen Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grasonville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“They have 2 tasting rooms”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just a heads up they have 2 rooms one new 7600 and one old 7200. I did both and enjoyed them. The old one is the one seen in Sideways and looks like an old barn. Servers at both were very nice and knowledgeable. Well worth the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cranky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Foxen wine”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Quite basic facilities with a portaloo but pleasant to sit in the sun. The staff didn't really explain what you were drinking and $10 for 5 mouthfuls of wine was quite expensive. We didn't visit any of the other wineries so it is difficult to compare them

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jl502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Definitely add to your wine tour list”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We drove up to the "old" Foxen tasting room (from Sideways) and were amused by the authentic surroundings - basically a shed. The bartenders told us about the new Foxen tasting room, just a few yards down the road. Wine menus were available for both. The list for the newer tasting room suited my palate better - so we headed over there.

The service was pleasant and the wine was tasty. We were lucky to be there when it wasn't too crowded, even on a holiday weekend. One of the bartenders even gave us some coupons for other tasting rooms.

Foxen was my 2nd favorite winery of this trip - after BlackJack.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very rude and unprofessional staff, do not know about their products, do not know how and what to pour while tasting, Plus the wine taste bitter and its horrible, I had better vinegar ...

Its a shame this place

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dulce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Foxen Wines”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Foxen wines get high marks from the Wine Spectator, and the better ones are very limited in production. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. In addition to an inexpensive $10 flight tasting of recent wines they offered a $20 library wine tasting of select older vintages accompanied by a cheese plate. There are other vineyards to visit in the area that offer more attractions or activities for those that are less serious about wine. Unfortunately, for the most serious wine collectors, Foxen's smallest production most sought after wines are not available for tasting, only by mailing list.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxen Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Foxen Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing