We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Neighborhhod Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff Cafe

Cliff Cafe
Ranked #198 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhhod Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came to Cliff Cafe because of the Yelp writeups. The food was good though most of the omelets were standard fare. The red pesto omelet was different than most restaurants and was very good with a strong sun dried tomato taste. The quality of the food was top notch and the service was the best.

This is a breakfast only place and closes early.

My only warning is that this is a VERY VERY small restaurant. 6 tables. We waited more than an hour for a table even though we were the 4th in line to be seated. While the food was very good, it was not worth the wait and will return only if there is not a line in front...or if I have a lot of extra time on a lazy day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larryjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Yummy, homey breakfast with fresh, organic ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Small, homey, hole-in-the-wall breakfast place with lots of great breakfast options cooked to perfection, using fresh ingredients and free-range eggs. Lots of substitutions available. I had some cottage cheese substitued for hash browns, and it's the best cottage cheese I've ever eaten--thick, rich, and creamy, with no sharpness or bitterness. All our eggs (cooked different ways) were done to perfection! Not a spare seat in the place, on a weekday morning. Clearly a local favorite, for very good reasons!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I had heard much about this restaurant. I decided to try it out. The service was slow, acted as if we were the lucky ones to be seated and served. The food was not special and the clam chowder which I was told was the best in the area was no better than any other chain restaurant. Very pricey for what you get

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank papamac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Merely, okay.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Saw good reviews regarding their pancakes so visited on a trip through Santa Cruz. The pancakes were overcooked, one was so burnt, that we asked it to be remade, which they kindly did. However, I was annoyed they placed the most burnt pancake under the least burnt to try to hide it -- tacky and shows the cook knew there was a problem but tried to serve anyhow. Other food ordered was merely okay.

Helpful?
1 Thank MemorialDay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“good breakfast.. small place though.. have to wait outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

good breakfast.. small place though.. have to wait outside

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cliff Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing