We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point

The Point
Ranked #279 of 368 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
San Blas, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've enjoyed my meals at The Point many times. The food is always excellent. The prime rib is fabulous the salmon is most excellent. The service is great the bar scene is fun. I'm always looking forward to my next meal at, The Point!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gatopelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Steak Pleasure Point is to die for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Quiet setting. I ate in the lounge and not the restaurant part. Very good staff. Attentive and fast. The food was great! I chose the Steak Pleasure Point - 8oz sirloin, sautéed prawns, mushroom, green onion, kalamata olive, garlic, artichoke hearts, white wine.

Price is not too bad either. About average for a steakhouse.

I would definitely come back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food good prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I LOVE The Point Chophouse for many reasons...all of them being the yummy menu items. I love Steak & Burgers & this is one of the best places for both. The Point Burger is huge & the price is great. Their breakfast is okay & the NY steaks are awesome! Plus they have flat screen TVs all over in the loung so you can catch a game & some great grub.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fire the Chef - seriously! Bad experience....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We went here by recommendation from the hotel we stayed at but ended up as a bad experience. As we walked in we noticed they had a nice dining area but it being almost empty on a weekend day should have been the first sign.
We ordered 3 steaks and all came out way wrong. The kids Filet steak was ordered Medium and came out close to Rare. My Porterhouse steak was ordered Medium-Rare (and double checked afterwards with server to confirm) and came out Well done!? The waiter did not do much to rectify the situation until I got pushy and complained about it. The well done steak was not replaced...?
Afterwards I spoke to the Manager and he was very defensive right away and seemed not to care too much. My wife who is normally very forgiving even complained and said this was one of her worst dinner experiences. We paid $91 for our meal and didn't get what we ordered. For a place that is called The Point Steak and Chop house, they failed the one core competency a steakhouse should have, which is to cook a steak well.
A combination of expensive meals, poorly prepared food, bad service and unappologetic manager in my book is a red flag. If you want a good meal then stay away from this place!!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trustthisreview88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Go for the PrimeRib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I liked this place right away after the change from the portola house. They've made it very comfortable. A bit pricey, but hey, it's good. It still feels a little like being in a cave since you don't see any daylight from the dining areas. The bar/lounge is great though. I like the couch and comfort chairs.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_OI812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point also viewed

 

Been to The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing