We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a great view”
Review of Miramar Fish Grotto - CLOSED

Miramar Fish Grotto
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food with a great view”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent service. Window seat by huge picture windows with beautiful view of Monterey Bay and Santa Cruz lighthouse. We have been eating here since moving to Santa Cruz 30+ years ago. Although the restaurant has changed through the years we can always count on a tasty meal. I personally love the poached Salmon with sauce on the side and lots of rice pilaf. My husband prefers the Linguini with sun dired tomatoes. We always feel welcome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikesupport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    15
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
west marin, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Watch the surfers”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We sat at the end of the bar facing the entry and could see boats coming and going, surfers, birds soaring and diving. We ate a very good salsa with our drinks. The bar attendant came and went, since there wasn't much business at 5 p.m. Great setting on the wharf...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marjiewestmarin_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Relaxing view during Happy Hour”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Walking down the Santa Cruz pier we grabbed a table with a great view of the lighthouse and cliffs. Happy hour prices are good with 1/2 off appetizers. Perfect setting for sunset too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radman143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just terrible. Truly horrific”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

1) flies 2) terrible food 3) worse service 4) dirty.
It is in a great location which is why it stays in business. I tried the clam chowder. It is from a can and if it is not the chef learned it off the back of the can. Food not fresh. No diners happy. Ugh. Really truly ugh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our food was good, not so for our friends”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We ate lunch on a Friday noon with two friends. Three of us ordered fish and chips. The wait for our meal was rather lengthy, well over 30 minutes, especially given the fact that the restaurant was over half empty. Our server however was cheery when she brought the food.

My wife's and my fish and chips lunch was well prepared and filling but our friend did not care for the fish. His wife ordered the prime rib sandwich but complained that it didn't have any flavor at all.

With all the other choices of where to eat both on and off the wharf, we felt that the lengthy time for service, coupled with the displeasure of our friends would probably cause us to skip this place the next time around.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryInLodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miramar Fish Grotto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing