We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cakes, Coffee and Cookies”
Review of Buttery

Buttery
Ranked #1 of 13 Bakeries in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cakes, Coffee and Cookies”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Ordered a cake here for my nieces birthday. Nicely decorated and exactly what I was expecting from the description on their website. While I was picking up the cake I decided to try some fresh cookies and they were delicious! My friend ordered a mocha and she said it was great. WIll come back ti this place for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    134
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great for a quick bite or bakery items”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently purchased a mango cheesecake from The Buttery. Wow, was it good. They were so nice to ask if we wanted any writing on the cake....yes, we did! We had a new grand daughter's birth to celebrate. We took the cake to the family and everyone loved it.

I have also eaten lunch there and they always have a good selection of items. It is sometime difficult to narrow down what you actually want as it is all good. I particularly like their salad choices. Always fresh and good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“deeliteful”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had breakfast at the Buttery. Both my wife and her friend had some kind of Mex., dish which started out being too hot but later on it got better. I had the two eggs, ham, on rye. I held the cheese. The sandwich ended up being very plain and disgusting. But the guy next to me had something w/ the chibata bread that looked real good. These guys have fabulous food it was just my bad that I ordered the wrong thing.
I did buy $29 worth of pastries from them and every one was a real treat. The peanut butter cookies, the ginger cookies, vanilla pastries are excellent.
These guys have a lot of good stuff and some lousy ones too. I think 9/10 customers will be pleased with these guys.

Bon Appetite!

NUFF SAID!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominick550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The food is locally sourced and so fresh! The sandwiches and salads are awesome! Don't forget to visit the bakery side, cakes, cupcakes, cookies and fresh breads that are to die for! Decent prices, fun local presence and a charming outdoor patio.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gourmet meal + casual setting = Perfect breakfast”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Liked: Menu, food quality, speed of service, pricing. We had breakfast and the deli counter selections for lunch were so tempting and healthy that I wish we could have returned for lunch! The huevos rancheros dish was delicious and SPICY, and the croque madame was not traditional but a treat. It's amazing what simple ingredients, combined with attention to balancing flavors, can create.

Dislikes: First-timers should ask what the process is for ordering food and getting seating. There was a long line on both sides of the restaurant (one required you to take a number) and all tables were full. Take a number and head to the left side if you are looking for bakery takeout. Get in the line to the right if you want to order food to dine in and have someone else in your party grab a table.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank justinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttery also viewed

 

Been to Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing