We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just do it!”
Review of Buttery

Buttery
Ranked #1 of 13 Bakeries in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is amazing. Great outdoor space, we brought our dog along for the meal and they were so nice and warm to her. Every bite our our meal was savored. The prices are low, the quality is high and the atmosphere is adorable and super laid back. Made us fall in love with Santa Cruz. We are going back today!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    134
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz area CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“SUBLIME BAKERY - also perfect for breakfast/lunch/dinner items!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

For an extra special cake you need they have the BEST - HANDS DOWN! Wonderful pastry selection too, and gorgeous, festive cake designs that impress every time! If I call ahead and ask for an extra special sandwich to be made for an important visitor to my firm, it's ready and fit for a king! On the simpler side, it is an excellent place to stop for fresh and innovative deli items as well as salads, soups, breakfasts, and everything from great potato salad to more esoteric luncheon fare. All while you pick up your pre ordered cake! Outdoor patio seating as well as indoors - they ARE ALWAYS busy pretty much at peak hours, but never somehow a long wait. Check out the wonderful breads, cookies, YOU NAME IT - it's HERE! Nice little cafe - I am sure they've been here for many years as they have a stellar reputation. I also needed a gift certificate for a charitable function and Voila - they were so accomodating - I patronize them whenever possible in appreciation and with the knowledge that they are a valued local business that helps make Santa Cruz so special!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Soooo good!!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Love this place and everytime we go to Santa Cruz we take all our friends to enjoy of an awesome breakfast. Food is great and so fresh. And the bakery part is to die for! Totally recommend this place and breakfast number 3 is my favorite!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anatourino84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We thought we were going for breakfast but their menu was extensive full of amazing salads, sandwiches, and much more. You place your order at the counter, and they deliver it to your table. It was a really great experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 405Lisa480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“May be pastries are good?”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went to this cafe after seeing the good ranking on Tripadvisor. I ordered kale salad and soup of the day, french onion soup. Salad was fine but the soup was just onion soup, no cheese yummy soaked bread, not so great. My husband had Pastrami sandwich which was so small and sad. Nothing comes with it and costs $8, really?
The service was horrible. We had to ask for napkins, a fork for my salad, and reminding them about my soup...it was not even busy at that time.
We had coffee and eclairs at the end. It was good.
It was not as good as the other people said it is. May be it is good for breakfast and pastries?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RioQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttery also viewed

 

Been to Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing