We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best birthday cakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buttery

Buttery
Ranked #1 of 13 Bakeries in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best birthday cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family has always bought their birthday and holiday cakes from the Buttery for years. The Bakery box has always reminded me of my childhood birthday parties. If only they made gluten free cakes (they do have a flourless mousse torte which I haven't tried). My favorites are mint dark chocolate chip and chocolate hazelnut. Yum!! They also have a wide variety of fresh breads (lots of bagettes!), cheesecakes, baked goods (cupcakes, cookies, etc) AND a little cafe with savory dishes. There are a few tables outside and a few more inside - it is a rather small space so if you go on a weekend morning expect to wait. It's a good place to grab a pastry or hot sandwich on Soquel.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    118
    27
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Buttery has the best pasteries in Santa Cruz. Standouts include the carrot cake cupcakes and the macaroons.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rocheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food from scratch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Everything is made with care and quality. It does a great business and is also know for its cakes. Parking is in the back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasonslevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best Bakeries in Santa Cruz Couty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stop by here about every two months to pick up a fresh baked loaf of bread, since I am in the neighborhood.
Then I leave with bread, and at least another half dozen of their baked sweet goods. I am not a pumpkin pie fan, but their pumpkin cheesecake is out of this world.
They have been a dependable source for birthday cakes - which we have enjoyed over the years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We visit Santa Cruz @ 4-5 times each year and this place is always on our must-stop list. We love the large selection of pastries and desserts. The sandwiches are also fabulous although honestly, we usually just come for the sweets. It can get quite crowded during lunchtime hours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWT05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttery also viewed

 

Been to Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing