We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grossy Nasty do not Stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf City Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surf City Inn & Suites
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersSilver level
SAN JOSE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grossy Nasty do not Stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The pictures on the website are deceiving. The price for this hotel is way to high for the quality of rooms you get. The rooms smell old and dirty. The walls, floor, and bathrooms, are nasty. No every thing is nasty. There is a lot of noise, they say family friendly it is not. I will never stay here again. This is a horrible inn. Do not let the website or the name fool you. It IS BAD!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICOLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    12
    16
    80
See reviews for
56
28
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed in 4 or 5 budget hotels in Santa Cruz and this motel is better than the others.
The room we were in had 2 separate bedrooms, each with a twin bed, TV in one room. There is an indoor pool and spa. The motel is just across the bridge from downtown and the boadwalk - so everthing is walkable.
This is a great place to stay with kids.
The staff were extremely welcoming, the rooms were quiet, the other guests were not scary and the free breakfast of waffles was great.
I am glad I was not put off by some of the other mean reviews that I read.
It is true that fan was noisy and the walls did have stains. If you dont want that, pay more elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs at the front (Low 200 numbers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricHalfaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although it looked as though the bathroom fixtures had been updated recently, the rest of the unit was atrocious. The dirt was crusted on the nightstand, paint peeling from the door, even the ceiling had dark stains, as did the bedding and towels. The noise from the bathroom fan had me using it in the dark.

I was afraid to walk barefoot in the unit. There was even an iron shaped burn in the carpet by the window. I was considering staying another day, but couldn't tolerate it (and my standards aren't that high to begin with).

I was afraid to even look at the pool. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth57Pasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

THIS IS THE WORST MOTEL EVER!!! I HAVE BED BUG BITES ALL OVER MY BODY!!! It is disgusting there. I went to celebrate with my mother in Santa Cruz for me starting my master degree. We stayed at this motel. It was cheap and thought it was a good idea, I was so wrong. They were rude from the start and the own hung up on me when I was just simply trying to ask for the password for Wi-Fi. There website said 24 hour front office desk service. Morning came and breakfast wasn't served even at 8AM. Plus, the people next to us in the room were drunk and fought all night. I had to call the police twice on them. And I woke up with bed bug bites all over. I noticed them on my pillow. I also noticed a blood stain, it is gross. Also, the room had a funny smell. The bed was in an awkward position where I couldn't watch TV comfortably and my mother felt the same way. I guess you get what you pay for; sometimes paying less is not always the best option. When I called and complained the owner had the nerve to tell me he will give me a 20% discount when I next come back. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? I have never been so traumatized by a motel until this one. PLEASE DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He and his wife are both retarded and blind to the fact that they are losing customers

Room Tip: No rooms from this motel are good, please go else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family and I have stayed here 2 years in a row, The staff is always very friendly and the rooms are clean. They have an awesome indoor pool and Hot tub that the whole family can enjoy. The rates are reasonable and its not too far from the Boardwalk!

Room Tip: If your going to be there a few days and have a group, I would stay in the 2 bedroom apt. It has a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Well im not suprised this hotel is rated as one of the worse in Santa Cruz.We stayed here for one night while travelling in California and of the six hotels we have stayed in so far this is the worse by a long way. The rooms are dirty and need updating, the breakfast was rubbish and we had to take it back to our room to eat as there is no dining area. We paid $90 dollars to stay here, that now seems a rip off! We were just glad to get out of there after only one night, there are plenty of other hotels in santa cruz so try one of them!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is relatively close to the beach and main attractions not really walking distance, this was a last resort for us a family, it's a dingy hotel, stayed here during the summer weekend of 2012 the hotel gets really busy lots of people, loud and a somewhat ghettto, booked thru priceline( $117) the hotel fee was small bout 2 bucks for a night and just glad we had a place to sleep and glad to be outta there the next day.
Check in was fast and easy, service was prompt and efficient not too interactive but good, wi-fi was a plus, free parking but gets busy, didn't try the pool seemed too cramped up, did like that at night the whole place is very brightly lit! I gave it an "average" for the type and price/season if it's not a heavy busy season I would not have paid that for this hotel. expect towels, and if your like me remove the top blanket it just gives me the hivie-givvies! thankfully we had out on blankets! oh and don't let the "breakfast" influence your booking it's nasty bread, fake oj, and cheap tasting oatmeal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouK00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torch Lite Inn
Torch Lite Inn
#42 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf City Inn & Suites

Property: Surf City Inn & Suites
Address: 619 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5125 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Cruz
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf City Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Family-focused budget motel close to famous Beach Boardwalk. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a ten-minute walk to the Pacific Ocean where sun-filled days and peaceful sunsets entertain visitors in this Northern California surf city. Surf City Inn & Suites focuses on the affordable family experience with a quiet policy after 10 p.M. An on-site indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and the skate park across the street are popular with guests of all ages. Enjoy an affordable stay that's close to the action of the Santa Cruz beach lifestyle. Highlights Indoor heated swimming pool and spa (seasonal) Free morning juice, coffee and pastries Walk to the beach, pier and Boardwalk in 10 minutes No noise policy after 10pm Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a two-story building with 63 basic motel rooms. Each room is equipped with necessities including a coffee-maker, hairdryer and satellite TV. Family suites have two bedrooms. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all units. Features Grab a newspaper, coffee, juice and pastries each morning in the lobby. Kick back while the kids swim in the indoor pool (heated seasonally). An on-site hot tub is heated and open year round. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is located in a suburban center with several restaurants in close proximity. Santa Cruz Skate Park is across the street. The bustling beachfront is just four blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Surf City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Cruz Riviera Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing