We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get but beautiful views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Overpriced for what you get but beautiful views.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Chaminade for a family wedding, and while the scenery was absolutely gorgeous, the price was very expensive for what you got. Granted I know it was the busy season for the town, but had I known better I would have stayed at a larger chain hotel. The room was very small and cramped for 2 people, a tiny bathroom, no mini fridge or anything, and being that I believe it is a converted catholic convent and not originally made to be a hotel, the walls were paper thin so you could hear the room over's general conversation, and needed earplugs to sleep. The views however are fabulous and a nice escape from city life where I normally live, so it was a nice quiet weekend even though we paid far too much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyJanaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    169
    119
    84
    52
See reviews for
208
239
24
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I have a stayed at Chaminade a few times and have enjoyed it. The location is unique and normally the rooms are spacious and clean. On this most recent visit the floor and tub in the bathroom resembled the floor of a barber shop after a busy day—so much hair it seemed as if the bathroom hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Also on this most recent visit, we found out that the resort allows dogs. Fine if everyone is a responsible dog owner, but not okay if your room is next door to someone who leaves two barking dogs in their room for several hours.

Chaminade seems to have passed its prime. It's far too expensive for the condition it's in and the low level of customer service. We won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Note: We didn't eat breakfast at Chaminade, but there's no option for "not applicable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My average rating is based on the lack of peace and quietness. I know that there are other rooms that are much quieter, Especially the rooms overlooking the woods, as we have stayed here before and will still stay here again. Check-in requires much patience, especially if there is a line. Front desk needs more organization. Rooms are great. Much space. Clean and neat. Walls are thin and we kept hearing the loud sound that resembled fast running water from within our closet wall. But it's a stellar hotel with great extras. Two great on-site restaurants. Incredible Sunday brunch ... to die for. Pool, Spa massage Gym and hiking. Much much more.

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms overlooking woods for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently attended a wedding here for 3 day - and found the grounds very pretty and beautiful. However, 2 days into our stay, most everyone's room key would not open the door. That is very annoying when you are standing outside your room in a dripping bathing suit! And for my 92-year old mother, it was totally unacceptable. She stood with her cane outside her room for over 1/2 hr until they finally showed up in their golf cart to let her in! The Wedding Food was below par - my prime rib was like an overcooked pot roast - I could hardly cut it with a knife. I'm sure the bride's parents paid a lot for the meal, but my oh my, the kitchen needs help. Nice salad and good bread, but the main course, not very good at all. The Chef needs to try out his meal and make some improvements and the front desk needs to fix the key problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your review. We are addressing the key issues and will be implementing a new procedure to help eliminate decoding. We will bring all items noted to the attention of the departments involved .

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood city
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The over all appearance of the property was beautiful, from the tree lined drive up the hill to the beautiful flowers and vegetation. Room was spacious, beds were very comfortable. Room was quiet. Pool was well kept, sauna as well. The breakfast buffet was reasonable and nice choices of food. Loved my stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor, nice areas to sit and look at nature....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuge84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Comfy feather beds, great pool with music and towels, and a wonderful restaurant. The views were stunning as were the guided hike through the trees... It was sunny and warm, while the coast remained foggy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First, it's not a resort. There's a pool and a limited 'spa'. They claim an ocean view but the hotel is 20 miles from the ocean and the view is very limited.
Second, it's very poorly managed. We showed up for brunch on time and were kept waiting 20 minutes because "more people showed up for breakfast than we expected'. Really?
The worst is the surcharges. The charge $22/night per room and they don't tell you until check-in. The surcharge is for 'valet parking, dining room tips and housekeeping".
The fact is that management is so bad they have to get any money they can just to stay open.
Save your money and stay at a Ramada.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LoneRanger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,584 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing