We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Somewhat dissapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Somewhat dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and setting are very nice. The rooms are not resort like. I had a mini suite and did not even have a mini fridge.
The food at the restaurant was awesome. The service at night was turtle like, the young man seating people was more concerned with his phone than seating hungry patrons. Because the food was so good, we went with it.

As far as checking in, it took hours for our room to finally be clean and ready. The front desk people were great. There were some employees such as the wait staff at night at the retaurant need serious training. They are more concerned talking to each other about their lives than paying attention to their jobs. The restaurant manager needs to do some server training.

For the price, I will find a better destination. Despite all, still had an enjoyable weekend. The lunch waitstaff was on the ball and very friendly.

Hats off the folks at the check in desk, very helpful and friendly. Not a 4 star resort though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    144
    106
    81
    50
See reviews for
181
213
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Patterson, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here 7/1-4/2013. I found this resort via 'pet friendly' and what a great surprise - grounds are well kept and beautiful with all the flowers and the trees. Nice hiking areas for my dogs. Had a great experience from the friendliness of the staff - starting with valet, check in, waitress, and maids. Best I've ever had - and I travel a lot! Met the GM, Kevin, at breakfast which was a fabulous buffet included in my package - had a chef making made-to-order eggs and omelets which was also excellent, lemon soufflé pancakes, Belgium waffles, fresh fruit and lots more. Had a private deck overlooking the redwoods. The room was clean and fresh - and I did not have any issues with the retro-look of the furniture. Bathroom was pristine and loved the full bottles of shampoo/conditioner/body wash on the wall of the shower - brilliant!. Dual Shower heads really kicked it up a notch. Only had a 2 day reservation, but asked to stay a third night based on all of the above - and I haven't even talked about the pool/spa! My vacations will be at this resort in the future. Truly impressed.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for the rooms with the deck - better experience I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanst53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for the glowing review. We hope to see you and your pooches again soon at our new 'Yappy Hour'.

Cheers,

Team Chaminade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I think this truly is one of those places you go because of everything else but the rooms, and the rooms are OK enough to make the rest worth the cost. I stayed 3 nights. The proximity to fun places around Santa Cruz is great, and the restaurants have awesome patios looking out towards the bay. The food and service was great in the restaurant. The resort is very reminiscent of a retreat center or camp with dorms, buildings spread out far but they have valet parking. There is also a very nice hiking trail on their grounds in the forest, so nice and cool and a beautiful walk with a wide walkway. Of course there is also a nice pool and jacuzzi area.

The rooms are spacious but as others have mentioned the bathrooms are unnecessarily tiny and the shampoo, soap etc. is a joke (a wall-mounted dispenser used by everyone). Wifi is great and no charge. They have a gym with lots of equipment.

The number of AC receptacles is absolutely terrible so if you have computers and phones, etc. bring extension cords and multi-outlet adapters (none by the bed!). I'm not a good judge of room decor but my wife was not impressed.

I'm giving it 4 stars because of everything else but the rooms but they are perfectly fine if you're not spending your day there. Don't go here to stay in 4 star rooms, go to be in a beautiful resort away from the crowds, nice restaurant, but still close to the parks and beaches you'd like in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Request first floor room so you don't feel like you're in a motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelSnobAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family and I checked in late into the resort. Both my wife and I needed to check in because we reserved two rooms, which was rather strange since I figured that if any damages were incurred, my wife (and ultimately me) would be on the hook for the bill.

First impressions, to be honest, were not that great. The rooms are grouped according to room numbers in separate buildings. The buildings look like run-of-the-mill apartment buildings or college dormitories. There’s no facade or anything of note from an architectural standpoint. A set of outdoor stairs take you to the upper floor rooms. Building is bisected by a hallway, with rooms on each side. The hallway is thankfully enclosed with glass doors on each end. There’s a slot for what I assume is your card key to limit the people who can access your building but the lock to the door closest to our rooms was broken. Just pull and it opened. The card reader was also broken as it did not register our key card. So much for security...

The room decor was also interesting, to say the least. Overall the impression is visiting your great uncle Joe’s house that has not been significantly renovated since the late 70’s. No shag carpeting or dark wood paneling but there are odd pieces of dark furniture, including the headboards, which I think are going for a carved polynesian motif. Most of the walls of the room are covered in a beige textured wallpaper-like covering upon closer inspection is supposed to look like... rattan? Then incongruously there is a brushed metal sconce on the wall that jarringly seemed out of place. The room has an alcove which contains a small round table with two chairs. The table top is covered with a pane of round glass. At the far wall of this small alcove is a different kind of wallpaper. It is a dark orange or brick colored wall paper with dark accents. Over this small table is a colorful ceiling lamp. When I first entered the room, I tried flipping on the all the wall switches to turn on the lamp but couldn’t. Then it dawned on me that the ceiling lamp was hanging from a large chain-link chain. And the chain ran from the lamp to the ceiling attachment for the lamp, then to another attachment to hold up the chain by a wall, then ran down the wall. And running through the chain was the electrical cord. Aha! So I followed the chain and cord. The cord plugged into a wall socket. And on the floor, attached to a redundant loop of the chain and cord was the on/off switch to the ceiling lamp. On the floor! I shook my head....It was not obvious at all. By the way, the carpeting consists of this dark blue and brown patterned carpet (not shag) that pretty much says... conference hall or banquet room.

It was a slightly warm in the room, so I turned the thermostat down below the ambient temperature registering on the thermostat. Nothing happened. I looked around my surroundings, took in everything about the room that I experienced and a flash of inspiration hit me. I gave the thermostat a little love tap and well, the air conditioning started to work.

Towards the bathroom, there is a vanity outside of the bathroom that has a sink. But instead of keeping with the decor for the rest of the room, someone installed a modernistic faucet, something you’d find like in some Teutonic-themed post-modern hipster establishment. With an over-the-counter basin sink. It took me a minute or two to figure out how to turn on the sink and adjust the water temperature. The top of the vanity had been replaced with granite but they left the remainder of the vanity, I’m assuming, as is, with the same old dark wood. Then under the sink, next to the pipe to the sink, they left the complimentary tea packages and the ice bucket....

The bathroom, as other reviewers have stated, is pretty small and decorated in tile and orange paint. Did I mention that the curtains to the room are orange with teal stripes? Anyway, the fixtures and the sink and the countertop have been been replaced and are rather new. The tub has an anti-slip piece of rubber that partially floats upward when the shower is running.

But that’s not what really annoyed me about the bathroom and actually the entire room. What bothered me the most is not the above-mentioned architectural and design mishmash that I’ve written extensively about, which is more amusing than anything else. It’s what the resort has done to the toiletries. Instead of the little bottles of shampoo/conditioner/body wash and a little sealed packet of soap, the resort has mounted three bottles of communal body wash, shampoo, and conditioner on the wall. No bar soap! Of course you could move the little bars of soap from the sink or the vanity into the shower. But would it have hurt the resort financially to put a little bar of packaged soap in the shower? Using the wall-mounted dispensers of toiletries makes me feel like I’m showering in a locker room or a dorm, not in a private bathroom in a “resort”. Even Motel 6 offers you your own little bottles of shampoo and conditioner and a bar of bath soap. Is the resort, located in Santa Cruz, trying to make some sort of communitarian statement by doing away with the tiny personal bottles of toiletries and the individual packets of bath soap? I frankly don’t know.

Overall, this is not a horrible place to stay. But I expected more from a "AAA 4 Diamond Resort".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowbeardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Snowbeardude,

We appreciate all reviews even those who do not agree with the style and design of our rooms that were renovated with a retro style décor. It’s appreciated by many but understand you have a different taste for hotel room décor. Chaminade has been recognized by many for achievement of “Green Industry” standards, including but not limited to our use of dispensers for bathroom amenities as a substitute for the plastic mini bottles that have been used for decades. We offer a complete line of Bee Kind amenities which feature certified organic extracts. A portion of the net profits of this product supports honey bee and sustainable pollination research.

I look forward to hearing of your experiences throughout the property. Did you have an opportunity to experience a signature treatment at our spa, hike our many trails through the redwoods or take in an evening sunset from Linwoods Patio? Again, we appreciate all reviews and please fee free to contact me directly should you have the need.

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst
General Manager
831-465-3422
kherbst@chaminade.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this hotel based on its 4 star rating! It is far from 4 star...it is worn out and dark inside. Grounds are not kept up. Worst of all, we had someone climb the trellis outside our second floor room and try and get in our window at 2:15 AM! He said he was locked out of his room! We didn't sleep a wink after that! Scared us terribly and we left the next day! The worst night we ever spent in a hotel!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While we made several attempts to remedy the situation we apologize that we were unable to accommodate your needs. To be fair to the resort however, we take the safety of our guests seriously. Our tenured security team responded immediately to the scene and found it was a guest of the adjacent room trying to gain access after being locked out. He incorrectly judged his room and while attempting to waken his roommate disrupted your peaceful night. To which, he was deeply apologetic and offered to pay for your nights lodging. A point we verified through multiple conversations with the Manager on Duty not only at the time of the incident but also the following day.

Chaminade has a wonderful property set on 300 acres with 11 guest villas. Our response to these infrequent situations is immediate and thorough. Unfortunately, the guest requested that we facilitate a change of hotel at our expense in attempt to avoid a negative online review. The guest did not pay for accommodations for the night in question courtesy of their neighbor- leading one to believe their neighbors were remorseful and did not present a valid safety concern.

We at Chaminade welcome all reviews but do reserve the option to report truthfully when we are unable to accommodate all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place bills itself as luxury, but the weekend I was there, there was no internet service, the sauna was broken, the espresso machine was broken, and I'm still trying to work out the details of my bill (I was billed for two nights, and only stayed for one!) The location is lovely, and the staff are wonderful, but the physical plant is basically a cheap hotel with thin walls and tacky furniture set in the redwoods. I don't mind paying a bit more -- even a lot more -- but this place simply isn't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gal5332655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the hotel starting on a sunday, so possibly the resort is busier over the weekend? However, found it to be a very relaxing break, the whole resort was very quiet, which ment the pool area was very relaxing.

We enjoyed the nature trails. Breakfast was excellent. Family joined us for lunch, which was delightfull - helped by the lovely views and setting.

Yes the rooms are a litted dated - however, everything was clean and the bed very confortable. It was very peacefull at night, although people and doors closing could be easily heard, possibly more of a problem if very busy??

My tip would be to avoid busy times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dippylippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.4 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
#11 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing