We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$143
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$137
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$209
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$271
$258
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$227
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
328
189
129
95
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
189
129
95
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailstennis courtsnice resortmain buildingforest viewthe santa cruz mountainshot tubfire pitweddingangelaconferenceretreatoceanvaletredwoodscapitolacalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 803 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place bills itself as luxury, but the weekend I was there, there was no internet service, the sauna was broken, the espresso machine was broken, and I'm still trying to work out the details of my bill (I was billed for two nights, and only stayed for one!) The location is lovely, and the staff are wonderful, but the physical plant is basically a cheap hotel with thin walls and tacky furniture set in the redwoods. I don't mind paying a bit more -- even a lot more -- but this place simply isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gal5332655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the hotel starting on a sunday, so possibly the resort is busier over the weekend? However, found it to be a very relaxing break, the whole resort was very quiet, which ment the pool area was very relaxing.

We enjoyed the nature trails. Breakfast was excellent. Family joined us for lunch, which was delightfull - helped by the lovely views and setting.

Yes the rooms are a litted dated - however, everything was clean and the bed very confortable. It was very peacefull at night, although people and doors closing could be easily heard, possibly more of a problem if very busy??

My tip would be to avoid busy times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippylippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently had to find a place to stay in Santa Cruz. With places near the beach going for the mid-200's we decided to stay at Chaminade. It's about 10 minutes from the beach, but not THAT much more than the dives near the beach. We thought it was well-worth the extra $100. The setting was quiet and pretty. The grounds were well-maintained and the rooms were recently updated. The only reason I give it 4 not 5 stars is I thought the food service was slow. We were traveling with a hungry kid and it took us an hour to get food. We didn't have time to swim but the pool did look nice.

We were on the bottom floor and we could really hear the people upstairs.

Room Tip: If you really need quiet, select an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneLuckyMom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our resort. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay at Chaminade and are happy you enjoyed our beautiful location and views. We apologize that your service in our restaurant was not as speedy as it should have been and your comments have been shared with our staff.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I help my wedding May 18, 2013 at Chaminade and, since everyone attending would be traveling to get there, we turned it into a weekend of fun with the rehearsal dinner Friday, wedding and reception Saturday and a brunch Sunday.

I was very happy with the food, beverage, staff and most of all the location and ambiance - which is why we chose this venue. Nestled in the hills above Santa Cruz, it's pretty much amazing any direction you look and we wanted the tranquility for our big day - which is exactly what we got. It was PERFECT!

From the original tour we took to select the venue, to the planning process along the way and then the flawless execution the weekend of, the Chaminade went above and beyond to accommodate our requests and make sure that everything was done right. Pretty much everyone in attendance was impressed with the property, loved the food and was very happy we chose such a beautiful spot for them to spend the weekend too - we STILL have guests emailing and commenting on what a beautiful event it was to this day!

Thank you to Angela, the Event Coordinator, and her whole team for a job well done and an absolutely perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonetJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our daughter gave us a weekend away at the Chaminade that she purchased via an AAA discount.

Location is good ..in Santa Cruz, next to Capitola and Monterey is about 45 away.
Resort is in a woody and tranquil setting.
Rooms older but clean. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast buffet good.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and had a nice dinner at the Shadow Brook in Capitola while there.

Resort is older and regular room cost rate higher than what I would pay, lucky that our daughter purchased it at a discount.

Also wireless Internet was intermittent at best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcwinter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews