We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$143
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$157
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$258
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$227
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
328
189
129
95
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
189
129
95
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailstennis courtsnice resortmain buildingforest viewthe santa cruz mountainshot tubfire pitweddingangelaconferenceretreatoceanvaletredwoodscapitolacalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 803 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I help my wedding May 18, 2013 at Chaminade and, since everyone attending would be traveling to get there, we turned it into a weekend of fun with the rehearsal dinner Friday, wedding and reception Saturday and a brunch Sunday.

I was very happy with the food, beverage, staff and most of all the location and ambiance - which is why we chose this venue. Nestled in the hills above Santa Cruz, it's pretty much amazing any direction you look and we wanted the tranquility for our big day - which is exactly what we got. It was PERFECT!

From the original tour we took to select the venue, to the planning process along the way and then the flawless execution the weekend of, the Chaminade went above and beyond to accommodate our requests and make sure that everything was done right. Pretty much everyone in attendance was impressed with the property, loved the food and was very happy we chose such a beautiful spot for them to spend the weekend too - we STILL have guests emailing and commenting on what a beautiful event it was to this day!

Thank you to Angela, the Event Coordinator, and her whole team for a job well done and an absolutely perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonetJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our daughter gave us a weekend away at the Chaminade that she purchased via an AAA discount.

Location is good ..in Santa Cruz, next to Capitola and Monterey is about 45 away.
Resort is in a woody and tranquil setting.
Rooms older but clean. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast buffet good.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and had a nice dinner at the Shadow Brook in Capitola while there.

Resort is older and regular room cost rate higher than what I would pay, lucky that our daughter purchased it at a discount.

Also wireless Internet was intermittent at best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcwinter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently held a surprise 80th Birthday Party for my father-in-law inviting 25 people. The initial contact with Chaminade (highly recommended to us) was several months in advance. I had never planned such an event like this before, so I really needed advise. It was very important to us (our family) that it be special for him. Angela Cima and the team at Chaminade were very helpful with answering questions, presenting options, and being flexible about the arrangements. They checked in with us over time regarding details that came up and made suggestions based on our preferences. On the day, the staff was attentive without interrupting any of the the festivities and always available for moving the party along. All the guests told us how much they liked the food and the atmosphere. Angela recommended the bakery for us and the cake was amazing. We are very pleased with this whole experience of holding such a meaningful event. We appreciated the care they took with the room and table arrangements, variety of delicious food, great service, and of course, constant clean up. It would be a pleasure to have another event at Chaminade.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Marketing Coordinator at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Suzanne,

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Chaminade Resort and Spa the weekend of June 1, 2013 for a wedding. The property is lovely, well groomed and with beautiful views. Self-parking is a bit limited near the rooms, but there is valet available.

The spa area was clean and well maintained. The service staff was friendly throughout. We arrived before we could check in and were given keys to use the spa so that we could change for the wedding.

We had lunch in their bar/restaurant and it was great. The food was good, the service was very good and it has spectacular views. We went back to the bar after the reception and still enjoyed great service.

The facilities for the reception indoors and out were more than adequate. The banquet food also was fine. The outdoor space could have benefitted from more shade as it was a hot day and shade was at a premium.

The dining room we were in was plenty large for this wedding of perhaps 150 people. The buffet with cleared out quickly after dinner and became the dance floor.

To this point, as to the grounds and facilities, I have no negative comment.

The rooms, however, need some attention. We had a double queen room, though the beds did not seem to be a standard queen size (still its entirely possible that they were). The bathroom is small and feels dated despite there having been a remodel some time recently (there are granite counter tops). The paint in the room and bath was old, and needed freshening. The color choice of the bathroom paint (orange) was ghastly. There was a second sink/vanity area outside the bath with a coffee bar/refrigerator behind you as you face the sink. I think that all of that space could have been better utilized.

We were in the 200 building and the hallways had a distinct and strong perfume smell to them. The smell in the room was only slight. Friends were in the 300 block and had to change rooms because of a mold smell in their room (they were upgraded to a king room).

Overall I have mixed feelings about this resort. We liked the property very much and the staff was very good. But the rooms really do need some attention and not just surface things, but a careful going over. Any time I smell perfume in a hallway like that I think that it is there to cover something up. If they have an odor issue, then they should address the cause rather than mask it. If they don’t have an odor issue, then they are creating one as not everyone appreciates or can even tolerate perfumes.

I still recommend Chaminade. We only saw one room in one block and we did love the property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I expected much more for the cost. The decor was very dated, the room had an odd layout, strange and sickening smell in the hallways and you could hear everyone and everything going on in the hallways. I have stayed at far better resorts for less in the general area with a much better views and facilities.
This place is way too expensive for what we got. Strange dated room, small bathroom, no view. Plus, when my boyfriend asked for more coffee during breakfast at the Sunset Room the server argued with him, said she already gave him coffee. In fact, she poured me coffee then ran out while pouring his, no problem with that but she never came back with the coffee so he had to ask and she argued with him about pouring more saying she already poured it. Even if she did, it's coffee, you refill it without an argument!
They say they have a lap pool, it's not a lap pool. The pool is way too small to swim laps, one could swim the lap without having to come up for air its so small.
We thought about booking a spa appointment but after being so disappointed with the facilities we did not have much faith that their spa would be worth it.

Overall we were very disappointed with our experience. We will not come back nor recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are better places to stay in Santa Cruz for less.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennCam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews