We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$135
$130
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$186
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$157
$130
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$499
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$234
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
$393
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
328
189
129
95
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
189
129
95
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailstennis courtsnice resortmain buildingforest viewthe santa cruz mountainshot tubfire pitweddingangelaconferenceretreatoceanvaletredwoodscapitolacalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 803 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Although pricey ($425/ night for a suite) our family really enjoyed our stay.

On the plus side, our suite (room 104) was huge, came with a kitchenette and fridge (perfect for bottle washing and snacks) and the food in the restarant was superb. The views and property grounds were outstanding. Our suite was on the ground floor, with a deck overlooking trees. Beautiful. There are lovely nature trails on the property. The hotel provided two cribs at no charge. Our toddler loved it. Jennifer in reservations was super helpful, she even found us a sitter!

On the downside, the bathrooms need to be updated and the pool is very small. Forget about cabanas or waitress service. The walls are thin as is common for older properties. No bedding was supplied with the cribs. They charged us $15/ night for a microwave, which should have been included at the rate we were paying.

I read the negative reviews and I think Chaminade has a branding problem. It pretends to be a luxury resort like the Rosewood. Truthfully it's too rustic to pull it off. If the hotel rebranded itself as "Santa Cruz Wilderness Lodge" people would be THRILLED to stay here. But if you are expecting luxury, it falls short.

With all that said, we will be back next year. I'm just keeping my eyes peeled for a Groupon deal....

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Jasimo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review! We are delighted to hear that your family getaway was a success. Your feedback is definitely helpful and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not really much of a resort feel. Fairly basic room short on amenities. The surrounding area is nice but opt for the boardwalk area if possible. The staff was nice. Our room service breakfast was completely messed up. When we called about the mix up, the response was "oh well."

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dblange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution. We do strive to exceed all our guest expectations. I would like to explore in detail the challenges you encountered please contact me via email at kherbst@chaminade.com.

Kevin Herbst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely and secluded resort. We could not have found it without GPS, but once there...WOW. Beautiful and spacious room (be aware, there are no elevators) which feel private were a welcome respite after sightseeing. The coffee in the room was very drinkable. Lots of things for kids to do...volleyball, tennis, swimming and jacuzzi. Beautiful spa. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't count on elevators for your luggage.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

We are delighted to hear such wonderful comments about our resort. Thank you for taking the time to review Chaminade Resort & Spa....we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel website was extremely inviting - unfortunately from the time of check- in to departure ( spent only one night) we were very disappointed. The service bordered on pitiful! The room we had was very dark and dismal. The beds were hard and uncomfortable - towels like sandpaper. Not at all what we expected. The food was decent - overall, I can't recommend this property. It is definitely in need of major update!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cre8gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution. We do strive to exceed all our guest expectations, especially providing superior guest service. I would like to explore in detail the challenges you encountered while on property, please contact me via email at kherbst@chaminade.com. Looking forward to speaking with you. -

Kevin Herbst - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights beginning July 19. Location is gorgeous - very spacious woodsy grounds with distant views of Monterrey bay through the lovely trees. Staff were exceptionally polite. Our first night was fraught with problems, the worst which was inoperative AC which rendered the room oven-like. To the credit of management, everything that could possibly be done to fix the problems was done, but the AC remained inoperative in spite of several hours of noisy service. The place was full so changing rooms was not an option the first night. Second night, different room, was wonderful, and we were refunded for the first, miserable night. Problems happen, point is management did all they could which is all I can ask. Trails are a real treat, location is stunning, rooms are clean and comfortable - but perhaps more 3 star than 4, parking is far away from your room unless you get lucky. Did I mention the location is gorgeous? We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aCstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

We are delighted to hear such wonderful comments about our resort and beautiful property. Thank you for taking the time to review Chaminade Resort & Spa....we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews