We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View - Great Location - Fabulous Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent View - Great Location - Fabulous Room”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We went to Santa Cruz - spur of moment, found this place stayed for the night and are booking it for this weekend! It was a great somfortable clean room. The view is incredible. It's within walking ditance of the Boardwalk and the Wharf. Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us On the Beach! We are thrilled that you chose us for your accommodations where you could experience the unavoidable and spectacular views! Here at Casablanca Inn, our personal favorite time of the day for the best views is sunrise... The time may be early but on a clear day, we HIGHLY recommend taking a peek from behind your pillows to see a view that is comparable (if not better) to a Santa Cruz sunset! We hope that you can join us for another weekend soon for some more beautiful sights by the sea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    144
    75
    47
    68
See reviews for
169
189
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Point, California
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The room was very warm and comfortable with outstanding views of the ocean. Easy walking to the wharf and the boardwalk. GREAT place to just relax and kick-back! Manager (Priscilla) was very cordial and helpful. WE WILL go back!

Room Tip: Carefully check out the website and pick the room that fits your needs. Reservation people and manag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are so appreciative of your appreciation for our little Inn On the Beach! Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers about your pleasant stay with us! We strive for the highest standards in customer service and comfort, so we are pleased when our guests take notice! Please come back and stay with us soon for some more R&R by the surf and sand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is located right by the pier and the boardwalk. The hotel is a little older and was a home previously so don't expect cookie cutter rooms. Our room was clean and comfortable and there were nice reclining chairs. We had a nice view but the rooms with a balcony may be worth the extra. There was only a shower, no bath and the shower was very small. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Room with a view and balcony are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs.mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience On the Beach! We are happy to hear you were pleased with our location, we are certainly very glad our guests do not have to travel far to get the best out of Santa Cruz! Thank you for our appreciation of our non "cookie-cutter" rooms, that way we can give our guests the type of beach experience that they desire! We hope that you can come back again to the beach soon and build upon your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. I loved the view, the kitchen, lovely white decor. Never have I enjoyed a room so much. Only thing weird was the shared balcony but not an inconvienance. When I go to Santa Cruz, this is where I want to be. The location, price, and ambience all suit me to perfection

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are tickled by your wonderful review of our historic hotel On the Beach! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy yourself so much while staying at our facilities! Next time, perhaps you can check out one of our rooms with a private balcony to take your beach experience to the next level! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about us, we hope to see you looking out on the ocean in the not so distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been staying at Casablanca for 3 years now. We stay for the month of October. Every year is an pleasant experience. Each year we more and more improvements and as far as the staff goes you could never find any better. They are very courteous, helpful and friendly while being very professional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: For a good view the rooms in front is where you want to be.. For quiet and peaceful times the bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for expressing your appreciation for us On the Beach! We are delighted that you have noticed our improvements around the property as well as with our staff. We hope that you will continue to come back often and see more positive changes. As a Santa Cruz Historic Landmark with an extremely proud staff, we're only getting better and better with age!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Casablanca many, many times now. The have great clean rooms, amazing staff, an unbeatable view, plenty of parking. We have stayed in about every room on property now and have not been disappointed ever. The Management is some of the best I have ever had the pleasure of meeting (working with for arrangements), and staff goes above and beyond to make everything nice and make you feel welcome. I wish we could keep this place a secret just to ourselves! It has become the "Long Family's" second home!

Room Tip: Nothing beats the Captain's Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Your words have touched our sunny, little hearts! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful sentiments about our Inn On the Beach! We are so happy that we have been able to provide you with the accommodations, customer service, and views, time and time again! Speaking on behalf of our entire staff, we are all very proud to work at such a beautiful and historic location in Santa Cruz, therefore we naturally reflect these strong feelings in our work. We appreciate YOUR appreciation! Thank you again for your kind words, we hope that we can continue to be you and your family's Santa Cruz getaway for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The parking sucks. There really isn't an easy way to get your bags from your car to the room. The staff was ok. They do not go "above and beyond" to make your stay incredible as other hotels do. The room was fine. Not squeeky clean, but not dirty. It actually smelled like bleach soooo much that we had to open the windows to get the bleachy smell out. We couldn't open the door because it was right next to the garbage dump.
The Plus is the cheap price and we REALLY enjoyed the balcony overlooking the beach. It's not a modern hotel at all, but is a good choice for the area.

Room Tip: The hotel is ok, given the area. There really isn't much of a choice. It's really close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deezmachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! Firstly, we apologize that our parking is not situated close to all of the rooms on property. If you are familiar with Santa Cruz, then you will know that parking is quite a hot commodity, and we feel very fortunate that we can even provide parking to each of our guests. So while the parking may not be ideal for all of the rooms, other hotels around us either charge for parking or do not have enough spaces for all of their guests, so we will take what we can get! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your balcony overlooking the beach, we definitely know why our guests are in Santa Cruz and we are happy to provide Ocean Views from majority of our rooms! We are also sorry that you felt that our staff did not go above and beyond, as customer service is our highest priority, we hope that you can stay with us again so that we can increase the positive sentiments from your previous experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Property: Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Address: 101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5422 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing