We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DELICIOUS HOT BAR and great supplements/grocery too!”

Staff of Life Natural Foods
Ranked #180 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Cruz area CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS HOT BAR and great supplements/grocery too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was especially pleased tonight that I asked a friend here - he was thrilled with the hot bar food selection - the deli counter too, and the juice/beverage bar. I tend to come here for lunch - the food is reasonably priced for the health conscious consumer - and they do organic so well!! Locally owned; since they moved to this new location there is MUCH more to recommend it - it is sparkling clean, you may dine on their patio area, and have everything fresh to your heart's content. REMARKABLE improvements. Truly great recipes with variety - vegetarian, fish, pasta, meat - you name it! Staff is a joy to have in town, and accomodating as only local businesses can be! Near 24 Hour Fitness too - what a great area for healthy living!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a GREAT store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visiting from Oahu, we don't have alot of organic, natural food stores. My daughter took me and what an awesome store!! You are ver lucky to have such a great store. I have shopped quite a bit there since I have come, sure do wish I could take it back with me.
Aloha!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foreversurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best Health food store in town..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been a customer of the Staff for over thirty years..The best prices in town for all your healthy needs..friendly staff..great takeout food..Organic Meat and Fish..a nice sit down cafe for Juice and food..wonderful price on supplements and self-care products..My favorite, and I will continue to shop at the Staff of Life..cant be beat. and the owner is a real supporter in our community....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great alternative to whole foods, with a good bulk shopping experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is pricey, but isn't everything that is healthy, organic, non-GMO, etcetera, etcetera these days? I found the bin selection fantastic, but the groceries could have more variety. Good spot as an alternative to Whole Foods.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dani303030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AWESOME INDEPENDENT GROCER W/DELI AND BAKERY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you like to shop in natural food stores and are looking for an alternative to the chains (WF) try Staff of Life - a Santa Cruz So. favorite for over 35 years!!!! This place has everything...from a relaxing outdoor area with water feature and espresso bar to a hot food bar featuring many different vegetarian options everyday! They even serve breakfast in the AM....plus yummy bakery treats. Also a great body care and vitamin section. Wonderful meat counter as well as seafood...all in all a find! shop like a local at Staff of Life!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Santacruzergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staff of Life Natural Foods also viewed

 

Been to Staff of Life Natural Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing