We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great flavor a. Short on service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malabar Cafe

Malabar Cafe
Ranked #128 of 368 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great flavor a. Short on service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went to Malabar this evening for the first time with another couple. The flavors were excellent. The service is a bit impersonal and the atmosphere is Lacking. I thought the prices were high for the portion size. The owners and or staff need to personalize the service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food and flavors are amazing. Their specialty drinks were great too. (non-alcoholic)
The service was slow, but who is rushing. I was on vacation and was enjoying a wonderful meal. The portions are large enough to share. This way you can try many dishes and taste
the different flavors.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clacdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remarkable flavors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

From appies to mains, fascinating, creative flavors and presentation. We knew to expect slow, shall we say nonchalant, service and that is what we got. As so many others have said. But by no means should you let that stop you. The food is just too interesting and delicious.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Labirck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Malabar Bummer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Food is good, at least I've heard, but I had a very bad experience with the staff and refused to go back. I went in to order takeout and was completely ignored by everyone who worked there. I have no idea why. It was weird. I was left standing in the middle of the restaurant for several minutes while the staff repeatedly looked at me and walked away without asking if I'd like a seat or like to place an order. It was very awkward. I was dressed nicely, so I know they couldn't have mistaken me for a transient. This was a while back, and hopefully there are better people working there now.

Helpful?
1 Thank rooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Weird place and staff, but generally good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We gave this place a try. No alcohol. Sri Lankan. The woman who initially set us up at the table was grouchy and offended when we showed her a dirty glass. When we ordered we got the owner? sometimes cook? He said he was changing the menu and then proceeded to change most of our selections - fine with us. We placed an order for crab cakes (very good) and some of the bread (OK) along with an eggplant dish (good) and the Tahu Java - very good. We ordered two more entrees which never came. When we inquired the original guy came back over and said 'didn"t anyone tell you we ran out of these?" Very funny....sort of . We got the jalapeno peppers which were bland and called it a night.
Enjoyable with the right attitude. But I can see that some would be very frustrated.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank plasmablip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Cruz, CA
 

Been to Malabar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing