We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The photo on TA doesn't do it justice - this is a great restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oswald

Oswald
Reserve with OpenTable
Oswald is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 362 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“The photo on TA doesn't do it justice - this is a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Located on the ground floor of the main parking structure on Front Street in the middle of downtown Santa Cruz, this atmospheric restaurant satisfied on all levels. The service was excellent, food quality high, and the wine / drinks list broad and creative enough. The menu was short ( a few more items might have helped ) but focused on fresh and local. The wine list also had a good variety of local options. Dishes were plated attractively, tasted great, and the pacing of service allowed for an enjoyable evening. The restaurant had a good buzz/vibe to it with its combined bar / dining room. Given our experiences in Santa Cruz this definitely seemed to be the best dining experience in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice to try once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The first time I went to Oswald, it was amazing. The second time I went was the last time I would go there. The service was average. The prices were high with smaller portions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clacdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went here because of the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. I had the special cocktail a strawberry and cucumber martini - refreshing! The service was first class. Extra bread provided without even asking and an excellent meal. Husband had the duck with blueberries and I had the scallops and as for the desserts....almond and custard cake for me and chocolate mousse for husband - they were both perfect. Would definitely come back to Santa Cruz just to eat here!

Helpful?
Thank poppeta69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stellar cocktails with expertly prepared food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our visit took place on a Thursday evening and the restaurant didn't seem too busy when we arrived. We opted to eat at the bar and enjoy the full view of the traffic outside (because there's a huge wall of windows allowing a view of cross street traffic).
Our service was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable. Since we sat at the bar it was handled by the bartender / server and he seemed to know when to refill my water glass at the correct time and bring out the entrees well after we finished our salad...such a small but often overlooked detail (it's all in the timing of the kitchen).
Well, the food is expertly prepared using fresh, quality ingredients and served in adequate portions. And, the food is very rich...very rich tasting. So, the portions really do satisfy your appetite. We shared a crab with avocado and greens for our salad and that was fantastic. I had the eggplant gratin and it came with some mesclun salad on the side (more greens!) and my spouse had fried chicken with more mesclun salad on the side (more greens!). The food is tasty but we could have done without all of those extra greens on the side. Maybe another side dish? Maybe another kind of plate presentation without the mesclun salad? Anyway, their drinks are where they really shine. They make spectacular cocktails with ordinary ingredients in unusual combinations. My spouse ordered a watermelon-vodka-cilantro cocktail that was absolutely delicious.
Atmosphere is clean, classic and sublime. It's a nice place to sip a cocktail or two. Have dinner or a snack to people watch, watch traffic or enjoy each others company.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blkcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Oswald's is a very classy upscale restaurant with good food. It reminds me a lot of restaurants that I have visited in San Francisco. They have a great selection of mixed drinks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oswald also viewed

 
Santa Cruz, CA
 

Been to Oswald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing