We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good small plates and cocktails” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 515 Kitchen and Cocktails

515 Kitchen and Cocktails
Ranked #101 of 368 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good small plates and cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went there for our adult daughter's birthday. They have a very imaginative cocktail menu, and good small plates. We sat upstairs on a corner couch with small, low tables. Busy, but not too noisy. There is also an outdoor heated balcony. The small plates, such as crab cakes, lamb kebabs, and grilled artichokes, were quite tasty. The French fries (both regular and sweet potato) are also good. They have a full menu, but we just enjoyed snacking. It is mainly a place for date night, and caters to the hip UCSC crowd, but I would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachfolks_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, smelly couch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a nice time here with some friends local to Santa Cruz. Each small plate we ordered was very tasty. The cocktail menu is extensive, and they also have an excellent beer selection. We sat upstairs at smaller tables, in a lounge area. Unfortunately, the couch my husband and I sat on was a little stinky. It detracted a little from the overall experience, but I would still recommend the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wyattearp220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, Lousy on cleanliness”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Food was plated and served nicecly. Staff friendly, food flavorful and good. The decor was HORRIBLE because the upholstery was filthy in the dining and coctail areas. Carpet caked with yuck and the visible kitchen was really gross. Don't go until sanitation is upscaled.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosch en Duin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Noisy, retro but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located in a formet family house this restaurant is worthwhile to go to. The audience is merely young and noisy. Low key Californian atmosphere and attentive staff. Looking around it gives the feeling of lounge in a retro style. Dark colours and purple curtains represent to us the time of the 60-ties. Tables are small and close to one another which explains why conversations are pretty audible and adding to the noisy environment.

Anyway back to the menu and the quality of the food. They have some interesting items. French fries prepared with truffle oil. Another dish to recommend are the prawns. The best we had for a long time. My partner went for the pork tenderloin but that was a bit on the dry side. My steak was excellent. The flavors do hit the tongue however at the end of the dish you come to a point where you can say isn't it a bit too rich? Anyway, we feel it is recommendable and we will certainly come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Gastronomical experience in classical Bohemian environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Try the pork tenderloin or steak buvette for dinner, trouffled fries on the side and after dinner drinks at their beautiful bar!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 515 Kitchen and Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to 515 Kitchen and Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing