We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for night on our trip around the bay area and liked it. The gentleman behind the counter was friendly when we walked in and our room was fine. Good large bed and it was clean. Breakfast was included, it was pretty much the standard fare.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

The staff at the Comfort Inn are very rude, and lazy. In the room my kids were staying in the heater was putting out a horrible smell. I called the office and told them about it and they told me it was normal. I then asked for an extra blankets for my kids and got an attitude from them. I did not understand why getting an extra blanket would cause so much trouble. I am home now and when I went to check my bank account I noticed the hotel charged me an additional $30. So far every time I try to find out why I have this charge I get put on hold, and no one comes to the phone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jnbsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince926, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. If you turn on heater in summer it always smells for few minutes because it has not been used in summer for a long time. That's why we said it's normal and another thing about balnkets, as per your request we had provided two balnkets and if you wanted more you should have asked us and we would have gladly provided more.

Extra $30.00 charge was for the dirty stains on towels which you had used for cleaning spilled coffee.You should not use clean towels to wipe your mess, if you would have asked for rags we would've provided it to you.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

kirti patel
Manager
Comfort Inn
831-471-9999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place was walking distance to beach and boardwalk. Rooms are small, but clean. Place is older, but well kept. Pool is small, but clean. Good value for this place. Breakfast was coffee and Danish. Staff was all very friendly, evening when we arrived and morning to check out. I would stay again here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I took my two boys on a surprise trip to Santa Cruz. I am a avid researcher when it comes to where to stay. The reviews plus price/location added up for me (and Excel) for this Comfort Inn.

When we arrived I could not figure out where to park. There was simply no place. The owner came out and showed me where I could (illegally) park. Um. OK.

The room was reserved and the lobby was very clean. The staff was helpful and kind. We got to the room and it was standard, newly remodeled. Granite counter tops, tiled bathroom, flat screen TV. Very comfortable beds. Both firm and soft pillows. Very clean. No dresser though, just a laminate bookcase. Good closet space.

The boardwalk is 2 blocks away. There are two convience stores along the way that sell everything.

We slept very well that night, the curtains were not quite dark enough, there are blackout shades, but they let in light. So I used one of the pants hangers to clip the half thick drapes shut. It was very dark after that. We all slept so well.

Breakfast was mediocre. Good fresh fruit. Good typical waffles (also blueberry offered), toast, coffee (only half and half offered). The eggs were á la Egg McMuffin. Circular with yolk intact inside. Ugh. The sausage was slimy and inedible. Juice was OK, cereal was not stale and good yogurt selection.

Water pressure was phenomenonal, shallow tub, unusable for an adult soak. Their shampoo was like water. Bring your own. Towels were huge, fluffy and adequate.

Checking out was a snap. Staff was very friendly throughout and asked me to review here. Would stay here again for sure. I actually drove around and checked out the other motels that were similarly priced and ugh, I would be weary of them. Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yosemitejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for 2 days in May in a Twin Bedroom. The rooms have been refurbished recently, the beds were supercomfy with a choice of 2 different pillows and proper duvets. Everything was really clean and nicely decorated. The room could have been bigger but in the end the actual size was perfectly sufficient.
The distance to the beach is just perfect, just a couple of minutes walk and you're at the boardwalk.
There is a light breakfast in the morning with toast, eggs, sausage, cereal, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt and coffee which was a good start into the day.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. The pool is located directly in the parking lot which is a bit strange but seems to be quite common. The pool is tiny and wasn't as clean as it should be. Anyway it was too windy and cold to take a swim.
All in all very good value for money and a top location.

Room Tip: As for rooms on the first floor but only if you don't mind walking a couple of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ninusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here forgone night on a road trip. It was what we expected for the price. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and was a nice touch.
Location is brilliant. You pay for what you get and we thought it was on the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Volkswagenjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a road trip home and while the beds are nice n comfy and location to beach n boardwalk is great the cleanliness was not so great. There was hair in the bed on the pillows stains on our sheets and that was the second room the first smelt like cigarette smoke. Staff was ok not the above and beyond type of customer service i would expect. Very bad parking . Breakfast was ok. The ac in a room didnt work...had to set it to 60 just to get it on and we all sweat all night long. When u pay for the room u are paying for location ...room is a 60-70 dollar room and very small size wise.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmj19831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $95 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing