We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, clean and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a modest hotel, but everything I would ask for. Pleasant, quiet rooms, especially considering you are right in the heart of the tourist area. Easy walking distance to the beach, boardwalk, restaurants, etc. Very pleasant staff, very clean room. The parking lot is a bit cramped, so finding a spot early helps, but you won't need to drive after you get there!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and have a better view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goofyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 337 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife an I were on a 2 week motorcycle trip from Arizona. We went up through Nevada and then over to the California / Oregon boarder and worked our way down the coast to San Diego. We stopped at the Comfort Inn and were greeted by a young man who was very friendly. Check in was quick and easy. The room was very clean and comfortable. We liked the fact we could walk to the Arcade and Pier. Would stay there again and will recommend to others.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Azriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a great surprise for us. Excellent rooms, very clean, cheaper prices, and the people was very friendly, the breakfast was very good. The hotel is near to the main attractions of santa cruz.I reccomend this place.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bbarbaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Few hotels are closer to the beach and boardwalk than this one. In fact, most hotels in Santa Cruz are quite far away, needing a car to get to the touristy stuff. From this hotel we walked there in less than five minutes.

The hotel is older but well-kept, the interior of the rooms modern and clean, everything in the room worked, the breakfast hot and had variety, and the price of rooms reasonable. It looked as though during high season the parking may be an issue.

The owner clearly wants his guests to be happy. For example, when we checked in he asked what time we wanted breakfast so he could make sure it would be hot when we arrived.

Some other reviews said the hotel could be noisy but we didn't experience that at all, likely because our stay was midweek in November, the low season, so the hotel was mostly empty.

The neighborhood has seen better days, but we weren't aware of problems.

We would stay there again, and recommend it to someone seeking modest accommodations near the beach & boardwalk.

Room Tip: The potential for street noise exists, so try for a back corner. Also, choose the second floor so n...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 828TJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a week back during a weekend. Rest of the hotels near the area were charging $200 for a 2 Bed Room, this hotel was available for $109 for same type of room.
Service was excellent. All the staff including owners were willing to make your stay a pleasant one. Rooms were adequate size with all amenities like a refrigerator and microwave oven. Great Value for the price. Beds were clean and comfortable. Clean Linen. Room and Bath Room were very clean. The location of this hotel is very close to both beach and Boardwalk. You can walk to Wharf. Parking is free for this hotel. I would recommend this hotel for any young adults, families and who ever is looking for a clean, nice reasonably priced hotel in that area. Last, break fast is free and plenty. Kids will ove the waffles.

Room Tip: All rooms face road. So get one clsoe to Break fast lobby. :-)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I travelled to Santa Cruz in early October and stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We enjoyed our stay there! It's a cute little hotel, very close to the Boardwalk and beach and within 15 mins walking distance to the downtown area. The rooms were well furnished and looked newly finished. The owner was a very nice gentleman who went out of his way to make us feel at home. When we asked for directions and suggestions on places to eat, he was very helpful. We told him we were going to walk to downtown for dinner, so he even offered us to call him if we got lost or needed a ride back to the hotel - he said he would pick us up! The only thing negative thing I can say about this place is that the breakfast area is small. Otherwise, great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelwithDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A few short blocks from beach and pier, an easy walk. Fast, free, Wi-Fi.
The motel shows signs of wear: latch on door was almost falling off, carpets stained, sheets threadbare.
Breakfast was not so good: Frozen egg white circles that had been warmed up. They only have Activa yogurt, which many people would not want to eat because it can be a laxative. A small breakfast area with only 4 tables that might all be occupied during the busy season.
The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave.
This would be a good place to stay for a family going to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince926, Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello Sir,

Thank you for your time to write a feedback for your stay with us. Your comments help us constantly improve our services and facilitate our guests with good services.

Thanks & Sincerely,
Kirti Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $117 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing