We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stopped here for 1 night while touring California.
Fairly cheap typical 2 storey motel with the big advantage that it is located close to the boardwalk including the famous wooden rollercoaster (sadly this was closed the night we stayed) beaches and the wharf.
Nothing to complain about - clean (although the carpet was a bit grimy), good bathroom, fridge, microwave, air con, flat screen TV with HBO.
Free breakfast which was usual US fare - muffins, cereals, bread, etc. in a small dining room.
Limited but free parking.
Nothing particularly praiseworthy or special to commend it but, for this price, I'd stay again for a stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 344 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Decent place for the money, we stayed in the room after a long day on the boardwalk. Rooms are small and the beds moderately comfortable. I stay in a lot of hotels for business, this was pretty good, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian32828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights the week of Sep. 9th.....check in and out was easy - Artie was very helpful and allowed us to use her computer for a quick change to my car rental. (Thank you) Room on top floor - back corner - two queen beds was very quiet as requested and clean. Would definitely recommend staying here to everyone. THANK YOU again Artie - my wife and I enjoyed our stay in Santa Cruz.....

Room Tip: Top floor - back corner two queen room was very quiet & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CANADIANEH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

2blocks away from beach and a price you can't beat. Easy Walk to Board walk and to the Wharf. The room is very well maintained and exceptionally clean. Small pool with chairs to relax at end of day.definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lillgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere close to the boardwalk and beach but in a quiet location this place is ideal. We were upgraded when we arrived so I'm not sure what we were supposed to get but we ended up with two queen size beds, a large bathroom, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and tv. We checked in early and left late but the receptionists were fine with that and were very friendly. Breakfast too was pretty decent and we loved the waffle maker. It was everything we would expect from a chain hotel like this so we were very happy. The only downside was 6000 miles is a long way to travel to find there's no surf! (But I'll forgive comfort inn for this).

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is 2 blocks from the Beach Boardwalk, so a great location if that's why you're in Santa Cruz. There are a couple of small markets between the hotel and the boardwalk, we stopped for essentials like water and milk.
The room we booked was a king suite. When traveling with my kids (ages 8 and 4) I really like having two rooms, because once they go to bed I don't feel like just sitting there in the dark! So, this worked well. The rooms were nothing fancy but very adequate and quiet. There were tvs both rooms, and the kid's bed was a sofa bed, but comfortable enough. King bed was fine. Bathroom was fine, just everything you'd expect from a budget hotel.
You probably wouldn't use the pool, it's very exposed, and small. In fact my son was calling it a hot tub.
Staff very friendly, although room service accidently left my door unlocked!!
Breakfast wasn't very good, but I really had no expectations.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel is you're stay is about the Beach and you didn't need to spend a lot of time in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came into town at 10 am. I asked for a room and they had one. It was more than I wanted to pay. The man at the desk reduced the rate and gave us a king room. He did not want us to go elsewhere. The rooms are updated and modern. Very clean. Short 5 minute walk to the Boardwalk. We really enjoyed our stay. It was the walk to the Boardwalk that was a bit scary. There is an apartment complex on the same side of the street that was really sketchy and made me nervous. The parking was an issue. They don't have much and a very tight squeeze. In all we had a great stay and would definitely stay again. The breakfast was a continental.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the street but it is pretty quiet. Very clean. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAG1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $100 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing