We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not quite under the boardwalk” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not quite under the boardwalk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived around mid day and was found a room straight away. Able to park our car, unpack and look around. The boardwalk was a disappointment everything closed up now the season has finished.

Our room was very good, located on the second floor, and just a couple of flights of stairs. There was a minor problem with the shower and the front desk agreed to fix immediately.

Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice .

Recommend visitors take time to walk around the downtown shopping area.

Room Tip: We found 2nd floor ideal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you Roger for your review and bringing up crucial points for our future guests to consider!

We would like to apologize that the Boardwalk and near by activities were close. The Boardwalk does run seasonally, so we would suggest to all our readers/guests to take a look at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk website for more details and hours before booking reservations. Thank you for also for pointing out that our staff is immediately able to help when there is a problem with your room, in this case it was the shower head.

Note: There are many other attractions right in Santa Cruz our guests can enjoy: Santa Cruz Wharf, Downtown Santa Cruz, Mystery Spot, Roaring Camp Railroads, and many wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountains, to mention just a few. Our staff will be able to provide details and more information about these attractions and many more. Don't hesitate to ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    111
    47
    18
    21
See reviews for
112
95
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in September. The manager Ken is the greatest. Anything that you need, he will take care of you. I booked through travelocity and had zero problems. The rooms here were clean and comfortable. This place is a block and a half from the boardwalk. Close enough to make it an easy walk, but not too close to deal with the noise. There are ongoing renovations being done on the property a little at a time so as not to create a construction site. It was obvious that the manager was on top of everything and lives on the property. This is very important. Read some of the reviews for other places. The continental breakfast was good. Eggs, sausage, good waffles, yogurt ,fruit, danish toast and of course coffee. I read a lot of reviews from many sites before finding this place. There were a bunch of places that I wouldn't even consider, and some that had review after review of the problems people had. There are higher end places for three to four times as much, but if your looking for a clean comfortable room in a good location at a great price, this is it. I would definitely recommend staying at this place, and will book here again if I return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
First and foremost, Thank you Chris for your wonderful review!
We strive our best to accommodate our guests and make sure your stay is easy, comfortable and enjoyable! We are glad you were able to experience our genuine hospitality! We look forward to seeing you soon!
-Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were there on Saturday 09/22/12.
Barth at the front desk was very polite and very helpful.
We arrived early and Barth let us park in the lot well before check-in. The room was clean, everything worked, no issues at all. Plenty of Hot Water. Really close to the Boardwalk.
Had breakfast the next morning, everything was fresh and hot.
We enjoyed our visit and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forwards to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for my daughter's cheer competition at the Boardwalk and we loved everything about the hotel, location is great, rooms are excelent, staff is very curteous, breakfast was good, my only thing would be the parking its a small hotel in a busy street so if you find a stall you take it until you leave or you will not be able to park your car near the hotel. I will definently would stay and recomend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellynkendrasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn. Thank you for your kind review. I'm sincerely sorry about the inconvenience of our parking, unfortunately the parking limitations is out of our control.

Attention readers: Our property is fairly small and has limited about of parking spots; however, our manager will try his best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times and I have always found it to be a great place at a great price! The property managers are really hands-on people and care about their guests. I have already made my reservations to return there in February and look forward to it! The motel rooms are clean and the managers are very receptive to any requests that we have had. LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Room Tip: Every room I have had (and I have stayed here 4 times now) have been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
214 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I somehow looked at the other reviews and thought this would be a good place for us to enjoy a romantic getaway...well..it wasn't. The staff person who checked us in was fine, but the parking lot is nuts (double park, leave a key) and the room layout is kind of odd. Our neighbors were loud and the walls were somewhat thin. The pool is tiny in the middle of the parking lot with no privacy! But the room was clean, the bed comfy, the location was very good. We didn't get to see or stay for the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KOSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have been staying at the Comfort Inn for several years now. The staff is very friendly and always lets us check in early, (other hotels in your chain charge $25) This year my daughter drove over unexpectantly and Kirti was very kind to let her park her car in their lot, even though they only have one spot per room.. Their continental breakfast is one of the best in town, and my husband loves the waffle maker. The breakfast area is always very clean, as are the rooms and grounds. The hotel is so close to the beach and wharf, walking is a pleasure, we even love to walk downtown. We love the upgrades to the rooms, especially the old pictures of the boardwalk that adorn the room walls. The beds are very comfortable, although i do not like the little pillows that the Comfort Inn chain are now using, so I bring my own. The managers are always very courteous to customers who seem to have issues with their reservations (I have witnessed this). This year i accidentally left my pillow in the room, when I called they said they would mail it at no charge. What great customer service! We recommend this hotel to all our friends. We have already booked our room for next February for the Clam Chowder Cook-off!!

Room Tip: rrom near the ice machine can be a little noisy. But the managers try and turn it off by 9pm to sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharoncresporeneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate your wonderful review, thank you. We look forward to seeing you and your family in February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Property: Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing