We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Skudeneshavn, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The owners where super friendly, and the room was huge. We really enjoyed this stay. Parking and internet is free which is a big plus for me. It was a bit far away from the boardwalk and the beach, but if you have a car its not a problem. Breakfast was great as well. Would really like to come back to Qulity Inn and Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    160
    66
    16
    24
See reviews for
140
124
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I think the theme of our trip through California has been "old". Old roads, old trains, old motels. This Quality Inn looks like it was really something - in 1968. Don't get me wrong, this is NOT run-down by any means. However, its better days are definitely behind it.

The good - this was an adequate, clean room off the 2nd floor patio (tile and trees - it still has charm)
The not-so-good - Security latch screws were all loose (fixed with my pocket knife screwdriver); loose tiles on the floor below correspond to the crack in the ceiling above (likely a reminder of past earthquakes in the area?)

Breakfast was not worth stopping for - no protein, all breads/pastries/cereals (not good for all of you diabetics out there) - we elected to visit Jack-in-the-Box, instead.

Given all of that, one must remember that this is Santa Cruz...an interesting and eclectic place. The Quality Inn is less than 10 minutes from the Boardwalk and Wharf (good food there), and a few more minutes to Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park. So this is not a bad starting point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrippersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualityca561, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for the feedback it is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

check in very efficient, room was ready, the area is nicely keep neat and tidy, room size was great, big bed, very comfortable, table and chairs and 2 seater settee, flat screen tv, big bathroom and wardrobe and a working desk - what more could you want for a stopover.,

would recommend, the walk to the pier and boardwalk is about 20 minutes, go straight down pacific avenue and you pass some nice restaurants and shops before you reach the beach.

nice little pool and lounging area too !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have mixed feelings. For the area, I think this place is a good choice. But the area is kind of not so great. I wish I had looked into staying in Capitola or Aptos instead because the street where most of these hotels are, is rather dumpy. I was glad it got much nicer of an area once we got to West Cliff Drive / Wharf areas. When we first arrived, we sort of wondered about the town overall.

My biggest suggestion for this hotel is if you offer a fridge, don't have it unplugged before guests arrive. They're actually quite big and by the time ours cooled off, any food we brought with us had to be thrown away. I was depending on being able to use it, yet it took about 10 hours to get cold. (Ours also was missing some stripping so I'm sure that contributed to the problem as the cool air probably kept escaping. Eventually it worked. But having it unplugged is just bad policy, especially since it's not a completely mini fridge and guests may want to bring stuff with them that they'd like to keep cold immediately. I had so diligently kept food and drinks and sandwiches on ice all day and it was a wasted effort.)

As to breakfast, loved the waffle maker. But they only have hard boiled eggs, no other hot breakfast items like other Quality Inns I've been in. So it's like carb overload! They even have a picture of scrambled eggs and bacon in the breakfast bar... that doesn't help! :)

The staff here was very nice. The room was clean (though even though we had a non smoking room, you can still smell smoke. Keep that in mind if that's a problem for you.) The only real noise we heard was the very loud plumbing of other neighbors. Otherwise, it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Much better than expected for the price. I had room 222.

It was spacious and had all the extras: coffee, fridge, microwave, Heater and I was pleased to find a flatscreen TV with HBO. No comedy central though.

Breakfast was good enough. Cereal, coffee, juice, waffle iron, toast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We come to Santa Cruz very often because we have a son who is attending the university in town. We are pleasantly surprised by the value, the size of our kind-bed room, and the price is inexpensive. We arrived at late evening the lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The hotel rooms are located at the back, and far away from the main street, so a good night sleep is ensured.The breakfast was adequate, more than just a continental breakfast as advertised. The breakfast room was bright and clean. Owner is very friendly. We definitely will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UCSCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Good spot on Ocean st just off the highway. Great if you're just getting into town ir if you gotta leave right away in the morning. If you're arriving late expect to have to ring the night time buzzer as the front desk isn't open all the time. Luckily the manager didn't appear to be all tired and grumpy when we checked in at 2am. Rooms were average size. Beds had 4 pillows on each. Had to leave early so i didn't get as much sleep as i would have liked, but I slept like a rock and felt pretty well rested on a short sleep. No complaints about this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivanhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#14 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
#11 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1101 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Hotel in Downtown Santa Cruz, Beach Boardwalk and Wharf:The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Highway 17 and Highway 1. Local attractions like the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Wharf (with its many shops and fine dining) are close by. The University of California Santa Cruz, Big Basin Redwoods State Park, Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and Roaring Camp Railroad are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Santa Cruz
Quality Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing