We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Room was large, clean and quiet. Enjoyed the location and being so close to everything. The breakfast was good, the usual free buffet. Didn't use the spa, it looks small. Parking is underneath the hotel, the garbage can was overflowing but otherwise it was fine. Like having the open stairway next to the elevator, it is convenient if you don't want to wait.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank travelmore300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAS95060, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hot tub and fitness center are amenities that our guests love. We also have a total of 4 stairwells throughout the property for the convenience of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Cindy McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 721 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

My family went to Santa Cruz for vacation and choose Best Western for the price. we were truly surprised with the great accommodations and location to the Boardwalk. The staff was great and the room was very roomy. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAS95060, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave us a review! I’m glad to hear that you loved your room and our staff. I will be sharing your kind words with our entire team at our next meeting. We’ll see you next year!

Cindy McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The best parts were Clara who was on the front desk when we checked in, housekeeping and the complete choice of breakfast items. Other than that it was just ok. I'd recommend a room on the second floor as then you can walk up the atrium stairs and not wait for the elevator. Our room was clean and utilitarian. The air conditioner kept going on and off with the off cycles way too long. Bathroom and vanity were clean and well lit. Parking is under the building and snug but not too tight. Just overall not the quality of Best Westerns that we have encountered. It was a good value for the price we paid and we would go back...just can't rate it higher or it might raise expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank los_companeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAS95060, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I will share your compliments with Clara and our housekeeping and breakfast staff! I’m sorry that not everything about your stay exceeded your expectations, and we will definitely use your review to help us implement changes in the future so that other guests don’t have the same frustrations you had. If you would like to speak with me directly about your stay or any future stays, you can contact me directly at cindy.mcdonald@bprproperties.com or by phone at 831-458-9898.

Cindy McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stopped here on part of a road trip from Vancouver down the coastline all the way to Anaheim. Some of these reviews seem a bit harsh, I thought the hotel was very pleasant. The location is great, especially if you want to get to the pier. They have a shuttle that will run there quite often.

The rooms were large, which was important as we had a group of 5. I thought the layout worked well for us and while we had an interior room, I didn't at all get a trapped feeling. The amenities were nice, the gym had a few machines but seemed to be well maintained, and the jacuzzi and sauna were nice and relaxing after a long day of driving! It's also very close to a nice downtown area with restaurants and shops (including Trader Joe's) so we liked that feature as well.

The best part (but really) was that there was free breakfast! This was a great feature considering we had a group of college aged kids with us. Everyone could wake up at their leisure and mosey down to the lobby to grab some grub. Overall great stay and had just what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAS95060, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your awesome review! I’m so happy to hear that you had such a great time. Being an all suites property, our rooms are quite large and great for giving everyone in the party some room to stretch out. I’m glad to hear that you liked your room, and that the hot-tub and sauna helped you relax after a long day of traveling.
The Trolley from Downtown Santa Cruz to the Santa Cruz Wharf is a fantastic resource for our guests, being only about a 5-10 minute walk away, and at $0.25/person, the price can’t be beat! The breakfast is also a really great amenity saving you a lot of time and money, and letting everyone wake up at whatever time is best for them and still have something to eat as soon as they’re up. We hope to see you again soon!

Cindy McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Room is dark and depressing. And we had an upgrade. We had two skylights in the room and it was still a cave. Has a grunge factor to the place. People were nice at the front desk but there is a definite hostel feeling to this place. The gym is only open at 9 am unless the guests that share a common wall have checked out early. One of the worst hotels I have stayed in for a while. To be fair, this was my first time in Santa Cruz and I was expecting more quaintness. That said, if I was 23 this place would be perfect. At 47, not so much. Skip it unless you are used to dorm or prison life.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade which should put you into a less than average room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SRV42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAS95060, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

I am so sorry you felt your room was like a dungeon. It seems like you must have received one of our interior rooms. While these rooms do not get any natural light, they are perfect for people who want a quiet room away from the street. The interior rooms are ideal for daytime sleepers, light sleepers who don’t like traffic noise, or people who like the security of not having any windows to the exterior of the property such as single women traveling alone or with small children. I wish you had reported your dissatisfaction while you were here so that we could have moved you to another room with exterior windows. Please feel free to contact me directly at any time if you wish to further discuss your stay, or any future stays. You can reach me at cindy.mcdonald@bprproperties.com or by phone at 831-458-9898.

Cindy McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We loved Santa Cruz and this hotel is located centrally and easy to get to all the attractions we wanted to see. We used the hotel as a base to explore local attractions as well as day trips to Monterey and San Fran. Good hotel with excellent rooms and staff. We will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAS95060, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! Our location is ideal as a central base for people wanting to explore the Bay Area. With San Francisco only about 2 hours north, and Monterey only about an hour south, we are in the perfect city to spend your evenings as your spend your days seeing all of the nearby sights. I’m glad to hear you’ll be joining us again. See you soon!

Cindy McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed in a two room suite. The carpet needs to be replaced. Drawers don't open and close very well. The t.v. stand is designed for a tube t.v. that is not present but has a flat screen on top; the empty hole for the tube t.v. looked ugly. The ventilation is designed to move air from one room to the next and isn't very effective.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAS95060, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I will forward your comments to ownership so that we can look into replacing the carpets and entertainment centers. If you want to contact me and let me know what room you were in, I will have my maintenance department check on the ventilation system, and I thank you for bringing this to my attention! You can reach me anytime at cindy.mcdonald@bprproperties.com or by phone at 831-458-9898.

Cindy McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
516 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus All Suites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus All Suites Inn

Address: 500 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $106 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus All Suites Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience draws both leisure and business travelers to the BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn. Our entirely non-smoking Santa Cruz, California hotel invites you to enjoy comfortable guestrooms, friendly service, and quality amenities. An ideal location puts guests within one mile of the shops and restaurants of downtown while the beach, which is home to the renowned Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, is less than two miles away. What's more, we're convenient to many other popular attractions, such as the Mystery Spot, Capitola Village, and Roaring Camp Railroads. Wineries, golf courses, state parks, and the University of California at Santa Cruz are also easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus All Suites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus All Hotel Santa Cruz
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing