We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for my 1 night stay... Staff was sweet!”
Review of Best Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Inn
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay for my 1 night stay... Staff was sweet!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Santa Cruz was a 2nd stop for my 2 week trip to California. Drove from LA area so needed a place to get some rest close to where I would be working for the 1st night. I booked this hotel because it was the least expensive of the nationwide (,in my opinion, better) brands, at the time. The day I needed to be in Santa Cruz for work, it was the lowest priced hotel so I booked it. The money that I spent on that hotel was not worth it, in my opinion, because the hotel was small, smelled funny(to me) and barely had any additional amenities. Please beware that the gym that they say they have is in a tiny room consisting of about 3 machines, they don't even look like they work but I guess that's their classification of fitness facility. The parking is limited and crammed into a small space. The lobby and breakfast area are in the same vicinity, it is also very small so when there are a few people trying to get breakfast, it is crammed and a bit uncomfortable. The room I was in, had a stained carpet that greeted me as soon as I walked in. I know hotels aren't the cleanest but that is horrible to have your guest feel like they are entering a dirty room. Is it that hard to get the carpet cleaned? Also, when I was in my room, I could hear everyone outside as my room was downstairs and near the lobby. Not good if you need a good night's rest for work. Breakfast was acceptable, it's the typical complimentary breakfast most hotels serve. There is complimentary wi-fi which is always a great thing. The best part of the hotel were the employees, most of them were super sweet and that's what made me give them a very good rating. The staff was very helpful and tried to help with my requests. It was okay for my 1 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChannyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    68
    35
    25
    24
See reviews for
81
62
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Santa Cruz was our first stop in a two week trip to California. After a long day traveling this hotel gave us what we needed, a place to rest our head to a pillow. The mattresses were too soft for my liking, felt a bit like a giant marshmallow but my traveling companions had no complaints.
The room was clean. Breakfast was acceptable. The staff was friendly. Rates were much lower than properties closer to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few days in July and it is a good option as it is quite inexpensive (vs. other hotels in Santa Cruz), well located (3 minutes from downtown with the car - plenty of parking in downtown) and in good condition. Also, the free breakfast was very good. The only watchout is the hotel seems to respond to the vibrations of the heavy trucks passing by. Not a big deal but surprising at first. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alain55_1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

In general it was decent, and I used AAA discount so it was one of the better deals at less than $200 a night. Hotel was clean, complementary wi-fi, continental breakfast. The thing I didn't like was that the room was ok at first glance, but I tried not to look too hard at anything. The comforter had stains, and when removed there was more than one long hairs on the blanket, yuck! Also, there was no fitted sheet on the bed, just a flat sheet laid on the mattress, that was weird. Aside from that, the bed was comfortable, and the room served its purpose for us. All of the staff were excellent. Small parking lot, but we always found parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our goal was to bike in Santa Cruz and we succeeded. The hotel is located a few miles from the boardwalk but VERY close to a great bike path which goes directly to the Boardwalk. There are many bike lanes throughout Santa Cruz and Capitola which make it easy to travel. The hotel is very clean and their breakfast has many healthy options. The hotel is also quiet, which is surprising, because it is so close to the freeway. We also stayed midweek which made our trip very affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was a great value for the money for that area. It's an expensive area. We all slept well with no noises in the night. The room had a mini refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker. The sink was outside of the bathroom so the other person could be getting ready while 1 person was showering, etc. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast to start off our day. I will stay there again when we have to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APTOS, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is nice and I like staying there sometimes but when i book Friday or Saturday it is usually $100 more per night. whoa! The breakfast is pretty good. My daughter liked the sausage and potatoes. The eggs smell like farts though and the bananas were green. But other than that pretty good. There was no high chair for my baby either which was sort of inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn

Property: Best Western Inn
Address: 126 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing