We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value - friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Vista, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good value - friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Coming back down the coast, we decided to stay in Santa Cruz. Wanted to find a quiet place but not right in town. The BW Inn worked out well. Started off not so good as we were put in a room that smelled like someone had just smoked a pack of cigarettes in, but went back to the desk and got another room. Room was clean and quiet enough. Recommended to front desk that while they have no smoking signs on every other door, maybe some do not understand the entire hotel is no smoking. Thought that if they put a sign on the walkway that may be helpful - not sure. We woke up the next morning to have some kid smoking outside his door (next to ours). The room was clean - the price was ok and the breakfast was functional. It was outside of town but easy to get to the downtown or boardwalk for dinner. Was close to highway 17 and was easy to be on our way the next day. All in all it worked out all right but not really anything special.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room so you do not hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenLeCreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We, here at the Best Western Santa Cruz Inn, are so glad that you took time to write about us on the Trip. We appreciate every review and look upon them all as constructive. I wanted to let you and all the traveling public know that our property is 100% non-smoking. As per Santa Cruz city law, our staff tries it's hardest to ensure that smoking only takes place at least twenty feet from any doors or windows. We have even gone so far as to implement a $300 penalty (which every is told about and every guest signs) for smoking in or near our rooms. I am so sorry that your experience with us was not more positive. We promise to do a better job from now on and to keep a better look out. Thanks again for taking the time to review us, each review is super important to us.

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Santa Cruz Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    28
    22
    23
See reviews for
58
55
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san carlos ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 1 nite. We had a party to go to in town and did not want to drive the 1 hour dive home over hwy 17 after the party. We found the employees very friendly and helpful. Also the grounds and our room were very clean and tidy. We used the Hot Tub outside it it was very nice and relaxing. We had breakfast in the morning and it was very nice to start the day with a free hot breakfast, scrambeled eggs sausage and waffles, juice & coffe and more. I would definatly stay here again if i am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We here at the Best Western Santa Cruz Inn appreciate your nice comments and the great marks!!! Thank you for recognizing how hard our staff works to provide a clean, safe, and welcoming establishment. We look forward to your next stay with genuine pleasure and thanks again for the great review!!

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Santa Cruz Inn
126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

So, how would you feel, if your hotel door key didn't work. How about with 3 shivering kids? The clerk did try and try to rekey. She tried the manager, who didn't answer. She eventually got us in with some master key after about 30 minutes, but we still had no key. Also, we had no TV, and the substitutue remote did not work either. Did I mention 3 kids? Well, we had a DVD player with us, so we made do. The manager was in the next morning and offered a whole $20 off for the inconvenience...ahhh $20?!?! No, sorry...The beds were nice and the clerk and manager were professional. I suppose I expected a little too much for my $170 a night hotel room. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the Best Western Sea Cliff Inn in Aptos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and please allow me to apologize for your horrible experience at our hotel. We do try so very hard to ensure that each of our guests have a perfect stay. I am so glad that our guest service agent at the front desk was able to help you. I can assure you and any other potential guests that the conditions you speak of are not at all typical of our establishment. I can also assure you and any other potential guests that all of our rooms have flat screen H.D. television sets and are updated with modern decor. We hope in the future that you can forgive us and maybe think about giving us another chance to show what a great value we are, here at the Best Western Inn Santa Cruz. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn Santa Cruz
126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We love the Charminade but unfortunately , we wanted to stay on Saturday night as well,but they were out of rooms , so we stayed here , everything was fine the room was clean and away from the main road cause I think that is important but the only thing was they didn't have enough towels for both room and spa,and the hot tub wasn't hot at all, we will only use this horel as a back up place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and honest opinion. As the new General Manager here at the Best Western Inn Santa Cruz, I greatly appreciate your suggestions. We now have spa towels available in the spa area and thanks for the great idea! We hope we won't be your last choice next time. Thanks again for your great review.


Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn Santa Cruz
126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, California, 95060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This was just a one night stop for us on our drive pacific coast highway 1. It was fine for a night, really close for getting back onto pch1, however I wouldn't want to stay here if my sole purpose was coming to Santa cruz. We didnt arrive until after 7 and checked out early the next morning and shortly after checking in we drove down into the city and then to the boardwalk. Looked an interesting place. If you are looking for a fairly basic room on a trip up route 1 then it's fine, it also included breakfast which wasnt great but was a free breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We can see that you weren't "wowed" by our establishment and that disappoints us. We hope on your future visits you'll see why we are so very proud of our hotel. Maybe on your next stay you will get a chance to try our dry sauna or take a dip in our relaxing jacuzzi. You could also spend a little more time in our rooms with HD cable, flat screen televisions, microwaves, refrigerators, and beautifully updated decor. We also hope you will see why we consider our Deluxe Continental Breakfast second to none with a waffle maker, scrambled eggs, breakfast burritos, sausage, fresh fruit, orange juice, cranberry juice, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels, english muffins and even pastries! We hope you will have a chance to come enjoy the area and our hotel sometime soon! Thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

For $189.00/night, we certainly did not get value for our money. Our room was dirty. Grime was evident on doors and baseboards. Door handles, light switches and other areas of the room where hands are placed had not been cleaned in a very long time. The next morning, I sat on a chair covered in syrup. Again grime was evident on the baseboards and doors. An attendant came in from the office wearing pajama bottoms and a sweatshirt. She noticed that the flame from the burner under eggs was too high but rather than check the eggs and lower the flame, she grabbed a chair and said she had to watch the Olympics and re-entered the office. I would like a refund but that is not very likely.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

As the new General Manager of the Best Western Inn, Santa Cruz, California, I can assure you and any other potential guest that the conditions you speak of will never occur again. You have my heartfelt apologizes. We have just recently put in place new cleaning procedures that will ensure our rooms are always spotless, as they should be. We have also had a change in some of our staff. I hope you can find it in your heart to give us another chance if you are every in the Santa Cruz area again.

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A nice, clean hotel. The rooms were spacious with all the amenities - small refrig, microwave, coffee maker and extra sink. Lots of storage. Huge complimentary breakfast but with only a very few healthy options. Pool, hot tub and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogini5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice comments about our hotel. As the new General Manager, I will begin to look into some healthy options for our Deluxe Continental Breakfast. Thank you for the suggestion. We really appreciate your review and hope you can come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#14 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#47 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn
Address: 126 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing