We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Rooms and Lazy Staff”
Review of Best Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Inn
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty Rooms and Lazy Staff”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

For $189.00/night, we certainly did not get value for our money. Our room was dirty. Grime was evident on doors and baseboards. Door handles, light switches and other areas of the room where hands are placed had not been cleaned in a very long time. The next morning, I sat on a chair covered in syrup. Again grime was evident on the baseboards and doors. An attendant came in from the office wearing pajama bottoms and a sweatshirt. She noticed that the flame from the burner under eggs was too high but rather than check the eggs and lower the flame, she grabbed a chair and said she had to watch the Olympics and re-entered the office. I would like a refund but that is not very likely.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

As the new General Manager of the Best Western Inn, Santa Cruz, California, I can assure you and any other potential guest that the conditions you speak of will never occur again. You have my heartfelt apologizes. We have just recently put in place new cleaning procedures that will ensure our rooms are always spotless, as they should be. We have also had a change in some of our staff. I hope you can find it in your heart to give us another chance if you are every in the Santa Cruz area again.

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    68
    36
    26
    24
See reviews for
83
62
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A nice, clean hotel. The rooms were spacious with all the amenities - small refrig, microwave, coffee maker and extra sink. Lots of storage. Huge complimentary breakfast but with only a very few healthy options. Pool, hot tub and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogini5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice comments about our hotel. As the new General Manager, I will begin to look into some healthy options for our Deluxe Continental Breakfast. Thank you for the suggestion. We really appreciate your review and hope you can come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel through a booking on Hotwire . They give yo a small room with a queen bed when you book this way, usually quite some distance from parking. After three trips to the room my husband decided to leave remaining items in the car and locked the car that was in front of the office in clear view. When I went to get my computer bag out of the car in the morning it was evident the car had been broken into, and my equipment was missing. When I spoke with the girl in the office I was informed that the car was in the security cameras blind spot. Hard to believe because the car was in direct line if sight from the front desk. I was also told that there insurance would cover it if the car was stolen, but would not cover content for a break in. The girl refused to give me insurance info and owners contact information. Prior to making the discovery I had taken a walk and found the number of homeless people in the area to be excessive. My son woke up with hives and an eye completely swollen shut from some sort of bite. Bi would rather sleep in my car than stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Go to Scott's valley if you chose to stay in the area. Book well in advance and call hotel dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for taking time to review us on the Trip. As the new General Manager, I would like to apologize for the problems you had with your stay. Unfortunately, for them, we do have some poor folks who walk along Ocean St., but if you were "homeless" wouldn't you want to live by the beach? I'm just playing. We do take each of our guest's safety very seriously. We have someone at the front desk twenty-four hours a day keeping a close eye on the hotel. I'm so sorry that your car got broken into. You will be happy to know that we are getting more security cameras! Also on your future stays with us I hope you will agree that our location (despite the "homeless") is ideal; close to downtown, close to Hwy 17, as well as Hwy 1 and only 2.5 miles from Santa Cruz Beachboard Walk! I really hope you can give us another chance to show you just how nice our little Best Western Inn is. Sorry again.

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

california
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on June 28th and 29th. The room was clean and the hotel was very quiet except when people were walking by the room but that is expected when you have your window open and you are on the first floor facing the parking lot.

There is a Denny's within walking or driving distance and other restaurants nearby. There are homeless people hanging around on the sidewalks next to the hotel but you weren't bothered by them. We felt safe staying here.

The front desk employees were pleasant and friendly.

The only issue I saw with this hotel was getting out of the parking lot onto the main road. It is easy if the people on the left who had the stop sign actually stopped and let you go.

Overall we had a nice stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice comments about our establishment and our staff. The employees here at our little Best Western Inn, Santa Cruz, California take genuine pleasure in ensuring that each of our guests have an excellent visit. We believe that our updated hotel rooms, but especially our crew, make us stand out against our competition. Our personnel take great pride in making sure our room cleanliness is kept above the Best Western standard, which is the benchmark for the hotel industry. Cleanliness and customer service are the main focus for our amazing employees. Thanks again for your review, we look forward to you nice folks choosing us again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Check in was fast and front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Our room was very modern, clean, and fully updated with very comfortable beds and the room also included a refrigerator and microwave. The room was very quiet. The parking lt is small but there seemed to b a parking spot for each room. The location is just a few minutes away from the beach boardwalk. There are a few shady looking homeless people who hang out nearby but none of them were on the Best Western's property and we did feel safe and secure staying there. The complimentary breakfast is a hot breakfast with a waffle bar, omelettes, scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, and pastries. There was juice, coffee, hot chocolate, and hot tea also. The breakfast was awesome! There is also a Dennys restaurant right across the street. We would be glad to stay here again. We had a really good room rate also through Best Western Rewards program.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonwg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking time to review us on the Trip. As the new General Manager, I would like to tell you just how much the staff and myself appreciate the nice commets! The staff works tirelessly to try and provide each of our valued guest a great stay. Hope you folks come back soon!


Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place was terrible.I checked into the Best Western in Santa Cruz on July 4,2012. I checked into rooms 126 and room 149. Upon entering the rooms the floors were so wet I could not even take off my shoes. The next morning July 5,2012 I left both rooms with the sign saying “Please clean my room” on the door. Upon coming back on the night of July 5,2012 at 11:30 p.m room 126 had been cleaned however the maid had left dirty tissues everywhere. They appeared to be snot tissues. She also had thrown away a whole box of pizza. Upon entering room 149 it had not been cleaned at all. When I called down to the front desk a young lady named Rosia answered and asked if I would like to clean my room if she brought me up fresh linens. I replied no but fresh linens would be nice so she brought me up fresh linens. We exchanged my old linens which consisted of all my dirty towels as well as the dirty cloth that was at the end of my bed. Upon checking the linens that she had brought me two were dirty. One looked as though it had make up on it and the other looked as though it had baby diarrhea on it. On the morning of July 6,2012 room 149 was filthy because it had not been cleaned in two days nor had the maids taken the trash out. Also on the morning of July 6,2012 I brought the dirty linen down to the manager at the front desk to show her and to tell her how our room was not cleaned. The manager was very rude but called her maid to the front desk. When the maid came to the front desk she did not speak English what so ever so the manager talked to her in Spanish the entire time. The maid had told her that we asked her not to clean our room which is a blatant lie. However the manager still agreed to discount our stay $80 for the maid not cleaning our room. They also put the bill in the name of Micheal Simpson, my name is Mitch Simpson. On July 9,2012 I was checking my bank account and found two charges one for $30 and one for $40. They did not notify me what so ever of these charges to my bank account. They accused me of stealing a bed spread and told me they were charging me for getting blood on a towel. I in fact did not steal anything from this motel and have never heard of a motel charging for dirtying a towel.

Room Tip: DO NOT choose this hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Simpson

Thank you for taking time to review us on the Trip. As the new General Manager, I would like to apologize for the problems you had with your stay. I can assure you that we are dedicated to changing your opinion about our hotel. I hope, eventhough you had a bad experience with us, you will be willing to at least give us one more chance. We promise to make your next stay awesome! Sorry again, hope to see you soon.


Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Cheaper then most other chain hotels in the area for a reason. Not a great location because of the surrounding neighborhood. Poor service. Ran out of toilet paper believe it or not. No one at the front desk for long periods of time. Breakfest garbage can overflowing. Staff walked right past it anf did not touch it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fendstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn

Property: Best Western Inn
Address: 126 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing