We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and rooms!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torch Lite Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Torch Lite Inn
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
sylmar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location and rooms!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, so close to everything! I was suprised to get to my room and have the phone flashing red with a message - it was just the front desk welcoming me and making sure I didn't need anything... such a nice touch. I definitely recommend this hotel. the rooms were very comfy and clean and really nice breakfast and very close to boardwalk!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    31
    18
    19
See reviews for
35
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed there on new year very nice hotel , rooms and service very good staff was friendly and helpful , hotel is close to beach and boardwalk 5 min and downtown 10min walking distance, I ill recommend this hotel , I will come back next time with my family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here in July, 2012. The 4 stars are for the service. Its a family run business and they were very very friendly. They are obviously making much needed improvemtns and really trying to run a decent establishment. Upon arrival, we were told we would receive 2 doubles, but we booked 2 queens. I told them that would not work at all, with me being 9 months pregnant, traveling with my husband and 2 young children. They upgraded us to a 3 bed, 2 room room for free. The extra space was very nice! They had just put in new carpet, and we had a balcony. The room was in a seperate builing, up some stairs, through a tired but breezy hallway. The room was tired, but beds and linnens were very comfortable. we had 2 TV's. Breakfast was average but awesome. Pool was also awesome! Heated, and perfect for young kids. No jacuzzi, but in the summer the pool was all we needed. When we were told that the pool didnt open untill 10, they were kind enough to let us in earlier because we had a long day ahead of us and the kids really wanted to swim. It was an easy walk to to boardwak ( I was 9 months pregnant at this time, pushing a double stroller, in about 80 degree weather) It was fine for 1 night, although in no way luxury. My husband loved this place, however i think I would prefere to stay out of this area of Santa Cruz, and make the train at felton our main focal point. If the boardwalk is your goal, and you want to avoid the nightmare of parking, then this IS the nicest place that you will find for this price point within easy walking distance to the boardwalk. If you have never been to Santa Cruz, be advised it is a dirty town, this part of town where the Boardwalk is in paticular old and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank n h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
300 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked through hotel.guides.com and this hotel did not have a record of it. They honored the price quote and had a room available. Rooms were clean. Second floor had an outdoor seating area overlooking the pool. No scenery though this place is angled right on the corner of two busy roads. Room was quiet. No complaints. Continental breakfast served in the room next to the pool. Yogurt, fruit, juice, cereal and coffee Traveling off season has some benefits as this place only had a few guests. Good location and good price with free parking. Only 3 blocks to the Boardwalk and 2 blocks to restaurants.

Room Tip: Second floor has nice patio overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Torch Lite Inn is a good deal for the price. Rooms were clean, customer service is good and location is a short walk to Boardwalk, and downtown. The breakfast is lacking, but there are plenty of coffee and breakfast places close by.

Room Tip: My sister and niece had a double queen clean but very cozy without the amenities I had in my king ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

stay there for 2 nights, every thing was good, staff is friendly, clean, close to board walk, clean carpet. breakfast is good.. what we paid for. this is a perfect place for families with kids.
and for teen ages.. pool was clean and warm.. timing is great 10 to 10pm..

will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was sorely disappointed by the Torch LIte Inn over the Labor Day weekend. Our room had a lovely balcony but the screen door fell OFF when I was opening it. Therefore we could not have any fresh air in the room unless we also wanted whatever else could come in!

There were 4 guests and we were given 3 cups, 3 towels, etc.

I found half a cigarette butt on one of the shelves.

For the amount of money we spent the room was terribly small and unaccomodating.

The complimentary breakfast room was nearly depleted of supplies. Guests were searching in cupboards for cereal and the juice machine was leaking on the counter.

All I can say is pick another place to stay when you are in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnetteSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torch Lite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torch Lite Inn

Property: Torch Lite Inn
Address: 500 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5124
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Torch Lite Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torch Lite Inn is located only 1500 feet from the Santa Cruz Beachboard Walk. Our hotel currently offers Free WiFi, Breakfast, and Parking for our guest. We are located within minutes of Downtown Santa Cruz and UC Santa Cruz as well. Come and enjoy our hospitality at the Torch Lite Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Torch Lite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torch Lite Hotel Santa Cruz
Torch Lite Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing