We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Santa Cruz's Best Look, But Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Santa Cruz's Best Look, But Nice”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After growing up in the Bay Area, attending UCSC and living in Santa Cruz for 5 years, I had never actually stayed in a hotel/motel/inn in Santa Cruz. Looking for a quick weekend getaway, we drove up on a Saturday night after choosing this place based on the thumbnail pic in their profile (the majestic Spanish-style architecture). While a lovely hotel in its own right, the location does leave something to be desired. The service and pleasantries (or lack thereof) leaves quite a bit to be desired. This will be our main reason for looking elsewhere on our next trip - drop the attitude; you work at a beach-side hotel, not a graveyard shift at a 7-11. Those of us vacationing aren't anticipating a [--] at the counter.

Highlights included the pool/spa (though someone did walk up to the window and stare in at us...kinda weird), and the deluxe room with the whirlpool tub. Cleanliness was a 3 out of 5, though the things that counted (sheets, bed, toilet, sink) were clean. The walls/ windows, eh. Breakfast included cereal, packaged danishes/ bagels, and coffee. I found a pack of oatmeal and sort of felt like I hit the lottery. :-)

I liked the overall vibe of the place, and met some pretty nice folks down at the pool. Hostel-type travelers, and it did feel a bit like staying at a swanky hostel (rather than a slightly down-trodden hotel). Knowing what I already knew about SC, you're not going to get killed in the area, but we did have some guests commenting to us about the frequency of sirens. I recommend the Howard Johnson or Dream Inn if you're looking for the quaint SC experience. There are also some nice B&B's on West Cliff.

Does the trick for area locals; if you're making the trip from afar, however, you might want to price up a bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    29
    17
    52
See reviews for
45
58
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

When an establishment is lucky enough to have a loyal customer, that customer should be valued and treated with respect. Apparently this is not a policy of Pacific Inn in Santa Cruz.

For over a decade we have chosen them to stay with. We are a quiet family and we spend $3-$4000 annually with them. We leave the room clean and are respectful of them. Way back 'when' they charged us a $100 deposit and even dropped that as they got to know us.

Now, all of a sudden, we are being asked for a $300 deposit. Yes, improvements are being made - new TVs, etc., that they don't want damaged. But they KNOW us. New policies should be applied to new people who are 'unknowns' to them. Nothing wrong with that.
We are 'knowns' to them, however, and I believe that our dealings with them should be grandfathered in. If they choose to not deal with us in the same respectful manner, SOMEONE ELSE WILL appreciate our business!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacinn, General Manager at Pacific Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Loyal Customer,

Please allow me to introduce myself, I am Philis Byrd, the new General Manager at Pacific Inn Santa Cruz.

I understand that you were not treated with the respect that was due you on your last visit. May I please apologize on behalf of the Inn for that.

I hope that you consider coming back to our hotel and rest assured we welcome you.

Please contact me personally at 831-425-3722 to discuss how we rebuild the bridge between us.

Sincerely,

Philis Byrd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you're okay with homeless, drug using, disheveled, young men being in the room next door, than this is the lodging for you! We were kept awake by loud voices in the hallway, shady characters hanging around the parking lot and a general sense of unease as we watched men in their late teens coupled up and paying cash with older men for a room. I was in this hotel with my teenage daughter, we had come to cheek out the UC, and once we got into the room, we didn't dare venture out to use the pool or hot tub. This is not a family place at all. At 6 AM, we bolted out of bed as screams emanated from the parking lot. A woman and man were screaming, swearing and beating on each other. Apparently, he still owed her money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having to travel with a pet for the first time it was hard to find a good place to stay in Santa Cruz. Thankful we found the Pacific Inn. Not only was the price right so was the inn! Clean and very friendly. The hot tub was a bonus. We'll be staying here very time we're in Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Take your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliCouple101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been going to pacific Inn for many years and have felt safe. The rooms are clean and the staff are great and helpful. The price is good and not to expensive also it is not so far form the beach and boardwalk. I have never had any complaints about this Inn and will go back again .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mljmljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here even after reading some scary reviews. We found the property acceptable for the price in Santa Cruz, we felt safe there and the management seemed engaged and eager to help. This is not the ritz, but after a day at the beach, the room was clean and the breakfast had the best homemade bread. Toasted, the bread was great. Juice, coffee, oatmeal and fruit also were free. I did not use the pool but I saw other guests using it. Santa Cruz has lots to do so we did not spend time hanging around the property. I would stay there again. If you are expecting a super modern hotel, this is not your place. If you want a nice room at a good price, this should work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The owner was very friendly and helpful. Everything in our room was in working order. The bed was comfortable and the neighborhood was quiet. The maid could be more detail oriented. The corners and lamp shades in our room needed dusting. The owner provided an ethernet cable and internet service was great. Breakfast included cereals, bagels, pastries and home baked bread. The coffee was better than most hotels. The hotel is in a pocket of poverty, but we didn't experience any problems. It's within walking distance of several restaurants, the boardwalk, warf and shopping. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but they looked clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 330 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4634 (Formerly Hotel PURE Pacific Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Mediterranean-style hotel in Santa Cruz Pacific Inn is just blocks from the boardwalk and Santa Cruz Beaches. Choose from several accommodation options with high-speed wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and premium cable TV. For added luxury, we also have an enclosed heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna. Enjoy the extended complimentary continental breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pacific Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel International Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing