We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quite, off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Selma Ca
1 review
“Convenient, quite, off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed at the Ramada Limited the first weekend of August. During this time of year it's hard to find a hotel that is reasonable in price and worth the $$$. We found owners Hugo and Sally to be very outgoing and more than happy to accomodate our stay. When we checked in, Hugo and Sally gave us some tips on the night life in the area. We even ran into them on Fisherman's Warf having a good time as we were. We parked our car and didn't have to drive for 3 days , everything that we needed was walking distance. The hotel room was clean and had a little kitchenett with a stove, table and chairs, micro, stove and sink along with the other usual amenities. The outside patio deck with table and chairs was a nice place to have moring coffee and to take in the morning mist. In the evening we sat out and had a beer while enjoying the ocean view. The bathroom was clean and the bedding also smelled clean and were comfortable. Five minutes from Fisherman's Warf and the boardwalk. We would stay there again. Can't beat the price and the convenience. Our teenagers liked it also, great family place, off the beaten path, we didn't have deal with a lot traffic in and out of the rooms. Quit and well maintained. Plumbing may be old, but that is to be expected in some places-not a problem.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — NO SWIMMING POOL
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saz4800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    71
    43
    49
See reviews for
101
102
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain House, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Former Alum of UCSC with knowledge that hotels in Santa Cruz aren't like hotels in Monterey. You have to be mindful of what you're spending your money on. Having said that, this place was worth the $$$ primarily for the following reasons 1) I surf and it's close to all roads East Side and West Side 2) my father-in-law fishes so its walking distance to the pier 3) my kids were going to the board walk so its easy to walk there 4) restaurants on the pier are good and you can walk there 5) the place was surprisingly clean...although a little dated, but we were pleasantly surprised at how clean it was. It could've been dated and dirty and that would've just put me over the edge. Great place if you come with no great expectations but to enjoy the town/beach/surf/boardwalk/etc. No pool...only spa. Kids weren't too bummed about that.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Dated and a little small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Adults2KidsLetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I read all the reviews after I had stayed there for two nights.I did gow up in the Santa cruz area. This place was recommended to me by two trustworthy friends. I found the manager, Hugo, to be a pleasant man. I did not see his wife. No, this hotel is not the best I have stayed but it certainly wasn't the worst. we had an ocean view, a fridge, microwave and everything seemed clean. The rates were very reasonable. Last year we went and stayed at The Dream Inn. We could have stayed at the Ramada for 3 nights to The Dream Inns one night. It is literally across the street. We are planning another trip there in July. Looking forward to seeing Hugo again.
Bobbie
Sacramento CA

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank BobbieSacramentoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capitola
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2008

I received horrible service before i got there! I called for reservation and the lady on the phone (the owner she claims) was so rude I was shocked!! I am a very friendly person looking foward to doing bussiness with them, but ill stay in the lucky motel 8 before i go here!! At least they leave the Light on for me, Jerks!!

  • Liked — Nothing It was Horrible
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank helibrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Luis Obispo
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Had a Great Stay and very good Staff

  • Liked — Very Safe Location and Quiet
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Eurovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed here for a long weekend in October. The room wasn't too bad, pretty small but had all the amenities- mini fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer and iron. The decor was dated and the linens were not anything I would want at home. The wallpaper was peeling and the room in general just needs to be redone. What I did like was the little "porch" we had in front of our room with a little table and chairs, with a view of the ocean it was wonderful to sit and drink a beer. The location couldn't be better, about 2 blocks from the boardwalk and the pier, there's a lot to do within walking distance. The free breakfast is the standard stale packaged pastries, plus some corn flakes and apples. I've definitley paid less and gotten more at other motels, but this wasn't so bad that I wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the room needs to be updated
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WetlandsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We have been staying at the Ramada for many years every time we visit Santa Cruz. It is always clean, convenient, great location, good continental breakfast and warm reception from the Managers and Owner. Santa Cruz is a very relaxed beach town and this Ramada keeps that relaxation feel during your stay. The Managers are excellent and not only attend to your needs but also keep the place quiet and orderly for its guests. That will be to the dismay of "partiers" and those that want to disrupt other guests. But it makes this place the best for guests that want a relaxed and welcome vacation.

We will continue to stay and recommend this Ramada because of great Managers and Owner.

  • Liked — Management
  • Disliked — That we can't get away to stay there more often!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SFCouple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#37 of 54 in Santa Cruz
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Property: Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5426 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing