We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car Not Needed for Boardwalk/Wharf/West Cliff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Car Not Needed for Boardwalk/Wharf/West Cliff”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location, rating and off season price. It did not disappoint. Our room, though very small, was clean, had a view of the wharf /bay, and a private balcony with table and chairs. We didn't need our car to do most of the things we had planned in our two day, one night stay. Room furnishings/decor were standard issue hotel style. There was a small refrigerator, microwave and safe in the room. We really enjoyed having cocktails on the room balcony.
If we had planned to spend more time at our lodging, we would have probably picked a hotel with a pool and other added amenities. Our only complaint was that the tub had, what looked like, fused rubber marks (possible from a bath mat at one time???) Would ask for a different room next time. And yes, because my husband and I are outdoor types, we spent most of our time on the beach/cliffs or enjoying other Santa Cruz features.

Room Tip: Off season is the time to book this property or midweek. Make sure to get a room that looks at the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    71
    43
    49
See reviews for
101
102
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel gives HoJo a bad name. After staying at the HoJo in Anaheim we booked one nights accommodation in Santa Cruz. We were charged way too much for a small room and were charged $20 for the use of a crib without linen, which we had to set up ourselves. No big deal, but every other US hotel we have stayed in provides this service free and with blankets.
Breakfast was disappointing with plastic plates, cutlery and stale bread... It is also requested that you take out your own trash (?)
We were far from impressed and found the staff nonchalant and lazy. We have since learned that HoJo hotels are franchised which explains the difference in service. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families. There are plenty of other hotels in Santa Cruz to choose from.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menlo Park
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was a nice quiet place to stay. A little too expensive for the quality of the room for the Saturday night, but that's what you get when you extend a stay. I wish they had better breakfast items, meaning healthier, and I really do not like the paper plates and Styrofoam to eat off of, but this is an American standard. It would be great to have some real mugs and bowls and create less garbage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here because of location and figuring if it was HoJo, it wouldn't be as bad as some Santa Cruz motels. It was perfectly fine for what I needed, which was a place to stash my stuff and to get one night's sleep. If I were spending any more time there, I don't think I would have been very impressed. But the are very few places to stay in Santa Cruz, so I guess this is one of the acceptable ones.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wanted to get away for Labor Day. Howard Johnson in Santa Cruz is in a great location. We like to park the car and walk. This place is in walking distance to the wharf and boardwalk. Also a nice stroll down to the light house. The room was clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. It also offered a decent continental breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#37 of 54 in Santa Cruz
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Property: Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5426 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing