We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; mediocre motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Richmond
1 review
“Great location; mediocre motel”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here because of location and figuring if it was HoJo, it wouldn't be as bad as some Santa Cruz motels. It was perfectly fine for what I needed, which was a place to stash my stuff and to get one night's sleep. If I were spending any more time there, I don't think I would have been very impressed. But the are very few places to stay in Santa Cruz, so I guess this is one of the acceptable ones.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    71
    45
    50
See reviews for
106
102
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wanted to get away for Labor Day. Howard Johnson in Santa Cruz is in a great location. We like to park the car and walk. This place is in walking distance to the wharf and boardwalk. Also a nice stroll down to the light house. The room was clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. It also offered a decent continental breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a nice time at this property. The front desk people were very helpful and courteous! They also allowed us to get intonourvroom a bit early because it was ready, so that was very nice! The spa is very large, the room was clean, and we had a great time being so close to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and I would stay here again. The location is great,within walking distance to the wharf and boardwalk, we had a nice view of the wharf area with a little deck & chairs for relaxing but it also faced the street. Small fridge and microwave, outdated looking comforter but clean, very clean bathroom, free parking. I had great customer service as they let me park there upon my arrival at 9:00 in the morning, way too early for check in. I went in to ask and when she checked that I was indeed staying there for 2 nights, she said I could park there then check in later. It was great, we enjoyed the wharf and boardwalk all afternoon while we had free parking at the hotel so I do thank them very much for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Nc
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Loved the front porch with chairs to relax in and a great view of the ocean and the wharf. Although my room was small, it was just me so it was fine. As a woman traveling alone, even though it was first floor I felt very safe (with no rooms above, so no one walking on your head!). Bathroom was clean and new-ish with great water pressure. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#37 of 54 in Santa Cruz
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Property: Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5426 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing