We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good motel and friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Cove Motel Apartments

Sunny Cove Motel Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny Cove Motel Apartments
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good motel and friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The motel is very nice. Big room with small kitchen and bathroom. Jane was very helpful with directions and answered all our questions. The only two negative things we have to say about the place is that one of the towels was dirty (a very obvious footprint) and that the heater made noise during the night which made it hard to sleep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne-Sofie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I are driving from Eugene to San Diego and just stopped overnight at the Sunny Cove. We needed clean and affordable, we got much more! The rooms are fresh and clean. The motel itself is really cute. The clerk at the desk gave us an even better rate than she quoted over the phone. She also had turned on the heat in our room well before we got there so it was nice and toasty for us on a late chilly night. I would recommend this place as an affordable gem! Great location too!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mlspear221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for its location, which is worthy of noting: it is steps away, literally, from the ocean, as the aptly-named Sunny Cove Motel is down the street from a lovely cove that welcomes a late-day swim when the fog has lifted. The rooms were clean and the staff courteous, but it is a small, independently-owned and maintained place. So with that comes some quirks, such as not necessarily being able to reach anyone when you call, or arriving to discover there is no one at the front desk to check you in. But why are you staying here in the first place? Another reviewer used the phrase "no-frills" and I agree: for access to the beach, it's terrific. For access to wifi and high-end amenities, it isn't. As far as beach motels go, this one is worth a look.

Room Tip: Try to get a room farther away from the street (closer to the pool) as the traffic is noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you want a kitchenette with no plates, no spoons, but just 4 bowls and a few other broken utensils, then this place is for you... If Internet access is important for you, don't go there (i did not get any, while it was super important for me work to get online to complete a work project). If all that matters to you is to be steps away from a beautiful beach, this place may be for you...

Front desk staff was really nice. Overall, i think the owner of this place just does not really care...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed-Ilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Prairie, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not sure where to begin. First we were pleasantly surprised at how close we were to the beach. You walk less than 100 yards to a beautiful private like beach that is cove. You can swim, relax, and skim board. Jane was a very gracious host. She worked very hard for us when our car ended up in the shop down there, and even gave us a ride to the bus station.
The rooms a very clean and well maintained. Every detail is taken care of. When we arrived we were early for check in. Jane was very apologetic for not having our room ready, even though we were 3 hours early. The beds are comfortable and had extra pillows and blankets, tv's were nice (watched some of the Olympics late at night). Our 2 teenage kids did not want to leave!
If you are travelling to Santa Cruz we would highly recommend Sunny Cove Motel! You will not be disappointed. This is the only place we will stay at when we vacation in Santa Cruz!
We have never experienced anyone like Jane. She is a jem that made the experience that much better. She will bend over backward to make sure your stay is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daveandmelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Sunny Cove is a no-frills type of place, and that starts with booking your room. Everything is done over the phone, there is no way to book anything on-line. Jane is in charge of mostly everything at Sunny Cove and she was very friendly and helpful. The rate during the week is $100 a night and it was $120 for Saturday night for an apt. with 2 double beds. I would recommend this apt. motel to people don't want anything over the top fancy, it was just a simple and clean place to rest your head.

As soon as you opened the door to apt #6 the first double bed was there along with a TV and the dining room/kitchen. Off to the right was a bedroom with another TV (no door to seperate the 2 areas just a wall) and the bathroom. The entire place was very clean, including the bathroom and shower which had great water temp and pressure. We did not use the kitchen to cook anything so I can't comment on the functionality, but the fridge kept our drinks and leftovers cold and there was a microwave and stove as well. I did see some plates, cups and other pots and pans in the cabinets as well. The bedspreads were not great, but one of the first things Jane metioned to me was that she was shopping for new ones.

The location of the motel is right off a well traveled street so we did hear a lot of street noise at night, but it didn't bother me too much. No one uses their horns in Santa Cruz! The upside to the location is that it is right near the beach with a lifeguard, and a great little shopping center that had a fantastic deli and also a dollar store. Two great restaurants (Aloha Grill and Neuvo) were withing walking distance too. They have a pool but it was not heated and freezing cold, it looked clean though. There are also tables and chairs around the pool so we enjoyed our morning coffee and read a paper out there.

Overall we had a great stay at Sunny Cove and for the price you really make out, b/c every other hotel in the area wanted at least $150 or more compared to what we paid to stay here for 3 mights. It isn't particulary close to the boardwalk, so if that is why you are visiting Santa Cruz this might not be the place for you. But if that isn't an issue I would highly recommend Sunny Cove.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool or on the side of the motel near the beach, there will be less street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsJoeyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

As described by others, this is definitely a funky, family and pet friendly alternative to a chain motel. We wanted a room as a base camp, and that's what we got. Good-sized room with a semi-functional kitchenette (bring your own cooking utensils if you really want to do serious cooking). Unfortunately the refrigerator didn't work very well, but did keep our stuff cool. Best ask if the refir is working before checking in. Some heavier curtains over the windows would have been nice to keep out the morning light, but this wasn't a deal-breaker. Several dog-friendly beaches are within a 5 minute walk, which was great for us. You can see the beach from several rooms, a nice feature indeed. There's also a nice pool area good for kids. They do everything by phone so don't expect the website to help out in this regard. For Santa Cruz, the price, location, and pet-friendliness were right for the day we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach view if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mtavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#35 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Cove Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Cove Motel Apartments

Property: Sunny Cove Motel Apartments
Address: 21610 E Cliff Dr., Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Sunny Cove Motel Apartments Hotel Santa Cruz
Sunny Cove Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing