We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Stagnaro Bros Seafood
Ranked #7 of 373 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have been here with family and friends on several occasions. I like this place because of the view. Hubby and I sat upstairs. We got there around Happy Hour so we ordered the appetizers of crab cakes, shrimp, calamari and clam strips and some large salad for dinner. The Crab Cakes were okah, yet not fishy, so I know the crab meat was fresh. Calamari strips were good, but the clam strips were chewy.

Really the only reason I go here is the view...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    162
    83
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“only if can can bear screaming kids”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went to Stagnaros simply because we were very tired and it was within walking distance from the Dream Inn Hotel. The dining room was very busy with many families and - unfortunately - very loud, screaming kids. We asked to be moved to a quiet room and after 5 minutes there another family was seated there too (with very well behaved children!)..
I had the Cioppino which was nice...only good thing was that the seafood was very fresh
but average at most, simple salads, plastic ware and paper napkins.
Visit once then forget it....too touristy

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mannks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice views, good clam chowder”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Enjoyed the clam chowder and the clams/mussels in a white wine sauce. The fish tacos were nothing special.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ru2020bmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK but others are better”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

There are several other restaurants on the wharf that are better. However there is nothing wrong with this restaurant and of course the views are amazing. So no complaints, just wouldn't rave about this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

How in the world can you sit at the end of a pier overlooking the water and serve anything less than fresh seafood?? We live in Alabama and our friends brought us here for my husbands birthday! Such a disappointment!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneBug1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stagnaro Bros Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Stagnaro Bros Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing