We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway on our 24th anniversary”
Review of Babbling Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbling Brook Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We originally booked with a cheap hotel. Upon checking in we found that the condition of the room was completely unacceptable. We saw an add for this B&B and checked it out. We were greeted with a real welcoming host who gave us a tour and we were sold. We chose the Van Gogh suite and had a wonderful time. The place is beautiful and the staff is really friendly. The room was excellent with a nice bistro deck and jetted tub. They served wine and cheese in the evening with a serving of sausage and pineapple which was very tasty. In the morning we had a nice breakfast with an eggs benedict made to order that was wonderful. All in all the stay was excellent and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 384 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

My one-night stay was stellar. Everything from the wine-and-cheese reception to the made-to-order breakfast to the well-designed rooms kept me happy the entire time I was there. It's a beautiful location and the staff takes care of the guests well. The manager was exceptionally kind. I loved the room, including the fireplace, the whirlpool, and the sound of the brook.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smotel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay so much. Breakfast and afternoon wine and snaks are just great. We would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ennio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Quiet intimate hide-away. Wonderful gourmet breakfast provided trays to take back to our room if we wished. Tom, one of the inn keepers, was wonderful; he truly made us feel like family. Upon reservations he asked of any of allergy concerns & helped us pick that “special room”. He more than meet our needs, as I needed to deal with family medical issues from a distance while there. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuki_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The staff was incredible and rooms were very cozy & charming. The breakfast was delicious. The water noise from the brook definitely helps quiet the street noise. The location was perfect for us as we were visiting our daughter at UCSC.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjcfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The most notable thing about this inn is the fantastic staff. They are welcoming, friendly, attentive, and go out of their way to help in any way they can. The common areas in this inn are quite lovely. The location is great if you want to be near downtown Santa Cruz. If you're looking for a secluded getaway, this place is not a great option, as it is on a fairly busy street. The room itself was fine, though for the price I would have expected somewhat nicer amenities, towels, blankets, etc. However, it was very clean and quiet, and we had no complaints.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank getaway28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was a great place to stay.

Unlike other B&B’s we stay in during our visit to California, this did not seem as if we were staying in a family home. There are pros and cons about this I personally felt more comfortable and did not have to worry about intruding.

We were in the Renoir room, one of cluster detached from the main building, and by the real babbling brook! It was the cheapest room, and perhaps had the least privacy being on the ground floor. That apart it was well appointed and very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting out on the room’s terrace/balcony in the evening.

Tom the "resident manager" was really very friendly and helpful as were all the other staff.

Other reviews mentioned the problem of road noise. We noticed this, but it did not affect our sleep

The breakfasts were great (unlike the other B&B’s each room had its own table again depending on your views an advantage but I prefer the shared approach) and the practice of providing wine and cheese between 5 -7pm was good. It gave you a chance of meeting the other guests.

The location was excellent, a short walk into town (which we loved), and a little further to the beach.

This place is well worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask whether the room is overlooked from one of the paths by the brook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffstyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.7 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Inn

Address: 1025 Laurel St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4237
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $194 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic bed and breakfast offers 13 guestrooms, each with cozy feather beds and private baths, and many include fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Delight in sumptuous fresh-baked cookies upon arrival, and join us in the 90-year old main house each day for a homemade breakfast, and afternoon wine and cheese service. The Babbling Brook Inn is a romantic oasis, offering a unique and rustic retreat within the vibrant beach side community of Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Babbling Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbling Brook Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing