We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location.....but......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good location.....but......”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed here for two nights. Not overly impressed by the room. Hairs in bed, bathroom needs work. All you would expect for a hotel at around $50 a night. Because we were here on a long weekend, the owners decided to offer public parking on site for $10 and so "no parking [was] guaranteed for hotel patrons". Hmmmm. You would expect that patrons get priority!

At 11.00pm the first night we stayed there, there was maintainence going on in the room next door; banging and clanging til 1 AM. Were definitely not impressed about that! Breakfast isnt served til 8.00am

Good location close to the boardwalk but thats the main positive attribute. And internets free and reasonably fast.

Oh, you also have to pay for ice....1 quarter!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katie_robinson16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk for your recent stay in our area.

I’m glad that the location was good for you and that the internet served you well.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated.

Upon the receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness which they are expected to maintain as our employees.

• The maintenance staff received additional training concerning the consideration which they are to show to our valued guests in carrying out their work. 11 PM and on is much to late for hammering, etc and disturbing guests in nearby rooms, except in absolutely necessary situations.

• Management received additional training in seeing to it that guests are given a priority status in matters such as parking spaces.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
17
35
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Never again! We got into Santa Cruz around 10pm and though there were plenty of vacancies at that time the office personel would not honor our valid coupon. Strike one. The room was nice but dirty. It looked like they did some remodeling and gave up halfway. There was unfinished trim, a bad paint job, etc., mostly cosmetic, no biggie. But there was hair all over the bathroom, beds, and kitchen and thats just gross. Strike two. There was a smoke alarm above the bathroom door and it kept going off while we were showering. I had to run back and forth to the managers office several times to get him to detach it. And when he finally did take it down he blamed us like we're the only people to ever produce steam in a shower. Strike three. But by far the worst thing that happened is that my daughter accidentally left her most precious stuffed animal on the bed, and the housekeeper either kept it or threw it away. Ive called several times and all I get is a bad attitude. They keep promising to call me back but they havent. And when I call I am clearly irritating them. Well Im pretty irritated with them too. This was a bad experience for us. Management was rude and dishonest. And frankly, their nasty room was not worth the full price we were forced to pay. There are plenty of good hotels in Santa Cruz. We will never waste our time with these people again. I recommend the Inn three doors down (with all the balconies).

  • Liked — kitchenette
  • Disliked — staff, misleading location, poor housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPLnCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk for your recent stay in our area.

I am so sorry about your daughter’s stuffed animal. I know how important those things are to a child.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness expected of them as our employees. They also received additional training regarding respect for the personal property of the guests and the importance of not throwing out something which might be considered very valuable by the owner.

• Maintenance staff was instructed to inspect the smoke alarm in the room assigned to you and make sure that it is working properly.

• The management staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Clean but basic. Had everything we needed and was in an ok location for walking into town. Brilliant for a cheap night stopover

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank RforC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Okay stay in Santa Cruz, no ocean view, but very close to downtown shopping and beach as well. Located on a street with many hotels/motels, so not better or worse than many others. Rooms are either to street or to parking lot, but street is not very noisy. House build in 70ies I think, but not in bad condition. Very clean, furniture quite new, enough space in a single queen room including tow chairs and table ... and best of all: price was low, low, low. Nothing major to criticise!

Continental breakfast ... skip it.
"Danish limited to 1 per person" ...never read something funny like this.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#47 of 54 in Santa Cruz
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torch Lite Inn
Torch Lite Inn
#42 of 54 in Santa Cruz
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Address: 505 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5123
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk Hotel Santa Cruz
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Boardwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing