We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

When you don't pay much, you don't expect much, but this motel exceeded our expectations. It was cheap, an short walk to the Boardwalk and an easy bike ride to downtown, the Santa Cruz Mission, the Surf Museum and Natural Bridges State Park. They allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot for a few hours after we checked out so we could explore Santa Cruz on our bikes without having to pay to park our vehicle. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit, coffee, juice, toast, cereal and pastries. The room was clean & quiet. I loved the big bath tub--perfect to relax in after a full day of hiking in Big Basin Redwoods State Park. The decor was somewhat dated, but we didn't mind. Be warned though, the parking lot is small and if you arrive late there may not be a parking spot for your car. We checked in about 5 pm and there were still spots open.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the parking lot, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Ok so I never write reviews about places I stay online. I am deliberately going out of my way to do so in this case. We arrived into Santa Cruz after a long trip in California. Reviews we read were so so, but we just needed something clean and well located. Oh how wrong we were. First of al the price was outrageous for what you get, we paid $500USD for a 3 night stay last weekend (admittedly high season). For comparison we had just arrived fro mSan Luis Obispo where we were paying $89 a night for a nice little inn, with a really good breakfast, clean rooms and a nice pool . Then we arrived in this [--]. The receptionist was welcoming until the female owner cam out and proceeded to bark orders, no smoking, you will by charges/fined if you do X,Y,Z, ...here are your keys...So into the room we went. First thing we see is a massive cockrach crawling up the wall. Stains on the duvet cover, no blinds, just curtains. Paper thin walls, with a French Couple going at it in the room next to us (fair play to them the were not trying to keep the noise down). I then went back to the main road to get my car to move it into the Inn parking, oh wait, not enough parking spots. Went inside to ask where I could park and was told to park up against the wall of the place but to move it early or i would ge a ticket. Nice. Breakfast was terrible, some horrible prepacked pastries which tasted like rubber, [--] instant coffee, sugar coated cereal and toast. Not the fault of the hotel, but the area is not the nicest after night so keep your eyes out. If I was doing it again I would avoid this kip and stay near pleasure point or capitola if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness expected of them as our employees. They also were instructed to look into the matter of cockroaches and to see to it that any such problem was eliminated.

• The management staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

norwich, norfolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We paid $55 for one nights stopover, it was ok, room was freezing cold and heater was extremely loud, saying that the room was clean and all we needed for a one nights stay. Breakfast was very basic, cereal, toast, tea coffee and juice. Staff wre friendly enough. Couldn't get the wifi to work.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in January. The accommodation was basic but clean, we wanted to stay somewhere cheap and we got what we paid for. We bought food in Whole Foods which we ate at the table in our room then we walked into town to go for some drinks. I would not recommend walking into town, it is a very quiet stretch of road, so just based on general safety awareness a taxi would be a better option. I think the cab home cost approx $10 including a tip.

We were woken up pretty early Sunday morning as there isn't really soundproofing between the rooms so when the occupants of the room next door got up we were awoken too.

As I said above, if you are looking for somewhere cheap and clean then this is as good as anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed here before and it was ok. This time it was horrible. The only positive was we didn't find bedbugs. They even charge 25 cents for ice! The smell was horrible and there were cigarette burns in the bedding.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Management was very friendly & helpful. Room was clean & quite. Breakfast was much better than other places, three chices of bread, big range of pastrys, fresh fruit, different cerals, juice, coffee, tea, even caramel syrup for your coffee..

We would recommend this place, good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holmsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was a very enjoyable stay. The location was excellent, walking distance from the boardwalk and beach. The hotel was old but well maintained, friendly staff and clean rooms. Decent price, we'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#30 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Address: 505 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Boardwalk
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing