We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
12
35
31
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
35
31
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfridge and microwavewould stay againstayed here for one nightfelt safetwo queen bedsnice stayboardwalk
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 103 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Surly staff, no privacy, not clean, no value, not as advertised.
Room shoe box sized, and NO privacy - Hear EVERYTHING in adjoining rooms - EVERY movement in others bathrooms and bedrooms EEEEK. Pubic hairs on bathroom walls and floor.
Breakfast - no milk no cereal and no replacement of items so if not first to breakfast, no choice.
Internet unreliable, no fridge in room and must pay for ice.
Arrived and paid and told manager we booked this place for the swimming pool, only response - "no pool". Advertised as with pool 4 stars and more - No pool, No stars and less.
Stay elsewhere - lots of choices in this and better areas of Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGoFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent attempt to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk during your recent visit to our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again decide to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

reminded me of the old style motor inns..we pleased with our two bedrooms..perfect for traveling w/kids..pastries, coffee and juice too. staff very pleasant. three blocks from boardwalk with one slight hill..(only an issue if you have lung problems we just walked slower)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Convenient location and quieter in rooms overlooking the car park. Rooms are comfortable but the ones overlooking the road can be a bit noisy. Adequate breakfast. Convenient location with the beach and town within reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This is a standard hotel which has a great location. It's only two blocks from the beach. They have great service and are willing to help. Every request I had they were willing to help. They even upgraded my room for free! For the money paid it was great. Good value. I would stay again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmoore21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpanchal, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we strive to provide you with the best accomodations at the most reasonable rates. We look forward to your return stay and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We booked 3-day suites, ~$550. Since we couldn't make the trip, we called the travel agent who booked for us and requested for refund. The agent was ok'ed because the credit card had not been charged yet and the hotel did not even receive the confirmation fax since it was 10 days before the trip. The hotel manager agreed to save the credit for future stay whenever there was room available but mentioned no need to issue any written proof of credit. He did not mention any expiration date. We called twice and was told no room available for the dates we requested. One year later, we called again and was told credit was expired. The travel agent advised that they were supposed to charge at most one night even for non-refundable reservation and it was totally upto the owner if he/she cared about their creditability or not. We were eventually tired of calling anybody and took the $550 of loss...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shucui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpanchal, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

We apologize for your inconvenience. The promotional package that you booked was non-refundable and we tried to accomodate you by giving you an extension on the time frame in which you could use in the same calendar year. There was an expiration date on the extension offered and we received no communication from you in that time frame and when you called the following year the extension was expired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews